We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of England House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
England House B&B
Save
You added England House B&B to your Saves list
614 W. Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“50th anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Laurel and Richard are the innkeepers that set the standard for what innkeepers should be. They are welcoming and friendly and run a beautiful B&B. England house is charming and lovingly restored. Each room is beautifully decorated and immaculate, the breakfasts are delicious and served with lovely china and linens on a sunny enclosed porch . But it is the ambiance and generous attention that stands above all else. Our anniversary was acknowledged as if we were old friends and our stay was more memorable that we could have imagined. We hope we will have an occasion to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
320
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely time here. The house and everything within is beautiful, and its clear that a lot of heart and soul went into creating a unique and welcoming atmosphere. The hosts were hospitable and generous, and all of their suggestions for things to do in Flagstaff, the Grand Canyon, and elsewhere nearby could not have been more perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroa, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My sister & I take a trip annually & decided this year we'd go see the Grand Canyon, Flagstaff and Sedona, Arizona (neither of us had been "out West"). Our first stop was Flagstaff (after landing in a sand storm in Mesa!) Needless to say we were thrilled to get to the England House! What a beautiful stone house! We were late and Laurel (didn't meet Richard) was so gracious & welcoming. We felt right at home. Our room was the "Pantry" and was a small gem located under the stairs on the first floor. It had everything one could need and was just right for 1 a bit small for two people. Our hostess was very attentive and had many great suggestions. We walked downtown and ate at a Latin restaurant (can't remember the name). Once back at the house we slept well & awoke the next morning to an excellent breakfast of fruit soup, chili cheese puff (Laurel gave us the recipe and I made it as soon as I got home...yummy), sausage slices, toast, muffins, fruit juice & endless very good coffee. Laurel is so thoughtful that she keeps track of what you had to eat so next time you won't have the same thing! In summary everything about our stay was top notch. I highly recommend the England House! One last note...it snowed when we were there which we didn't expect in April.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We wanted to get away for our first anniversary and this was the perfect place! Richard and Laurel made us feel at home and helped make our weekend special. They were both very knowledgeable about local attractions and eateries. They recommended a great restaurant for our anniversary dinner. The location was perfect, as it is within walking distance to the downtown area. Breakfast each morning was excellent. The rooms were very charming and beautifully decorated with period pieces. We look forward to returning on our next weekend getaway!

Stayed 4/13/2013 - 4/16/2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosque Farms, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

England House provides a warm, cozy atmosphere and is furnished with beautiful antiques. Laurel was a perfect hostess (we did not get to meet Richard). Laurel was a delight to talk with. She was very informative about restaurants, places to go, and things to do. She had menues from many local restaurants to review to assist in making a dining selection and provided a map to show us how to get there -- many are within walking distance. EVERY detail for our comfort was thought of and Laurel made us feel at home. We had access to the kitchen in which wine, iced water, fruit, cookies, soda, and candy were available. England House is convenient to downdown Flagstaff.
Breakfast was wonderful! The food was five-star quality and presented beautifully. If you are planning a trip to Flagstaff, you should be sure to stay at England House. We are planning our next trip to Flagstaff around reservations at England House!

Room Tip: The Stone Cutter room was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The house is absolutely beautiful from the bedrooms to the kitchen. Richard and Laurel have put an amazing amount of work into the restoration and it shows. They are great hosts who provide good advice on local sights, tasty meals, and laughs. We stayed in the Stargazer room and the hot tub was pretty much the greatest thing ever after hiking for the past few days. The location provides very good walking access to downtown and the highway but is quiet (though the house outshines its immediate surrounding). All in all, a fantastic place we look forward to returning to.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at The England House for 4 nights towards the end of March 2013. Richard and Laurel were terrific hosts and run a B & B that misses very few details. The whole experience starts with the tour of the home with all it's history, the pecan cookie crisps left out to enjoy all day, to the wine that is available every afternoon and finally to the delicious multi course breakfasts that are served on the sunny enclosed porch Richard and Laurel are filled will information that they generously share and go above and beyond to insure you take full advantage of everything that Flagstaff and surroundings areas have to offer. Keep the free local map at the ready since that will be used over and over. I especially liked the conversations at the kitchen island before breakfast and in the late afternoon before a recommendation for dinner. Other points of interest:

Pizzacletta for authentic Neopolitan Pizza
Diablo Burger for local grass fed burgers
The local Apothecary for some homeopathic remedies
Lowell Observatory for a step back in time
The Grand Canyon and a sought after spot that Richard and Laurel will share directions
Take a 3hr horseback riding trip from The Hitching Post Stables and get a taste of mountain riding

Have Fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to England House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about England House B&B

Address: 614 W. Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
England House Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage England House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.