We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of England House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
England House B&B
614 W. Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
“Best B&B experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a great time at this wonderful cozy place. The atmosphere is homey and comfortable. I have never been in a place that holds itself to such a high standard. Everything from the rooms to linens were very clean. The rooms and house were decorated and furnished with great attention to detail. The innkeepers very thoughtfully provided baked goods and wine and had extensive knowledge of surrounding areas. The breakfast was fantastic. I highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    14
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
306
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the England House Bed and Breakfast. We were received with a hearty welcome and warm conversation. Richard and Laurel's knowledge of the area proved to be a great resource for enhancing our stay in the area. We felt more like residents than wandering tourists. Wonderful accommodations, and by far the most delicious and satisfying breakfast. All in all it was the best Bed and Breakfast we have been to in our world travels. I look forward to our return to the England House Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Song Catcher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the England House for the first time last weekend and we had a most lovely experience. From start to finish, our stay was wonderful! Upon arrival, we were personally greeted by Richard and Laurel (the Innkeepers!) and offered fresh-baked cookies as well as a nice bottle of red wine. We stayed in the Pantry Room (yes, it was actually a pantry at one time) and just loved it. Some might consider it small, but we felt like it was incredibly cozy like a nest.
The attention to detail in every aspect was incredible - from the craftsmanship of the house, to the decor, and to the food. The house itself is a work of art - with antique character combined high-end modern amenities. We slept on fine linens that were hand-ironed. At breakfast we were served a homemade chile relleno with rare Hatch chiles, and Peruvian coffee in English china.
We were extremely charmed by the England House and will definitely be returning for our next stay in Flagstaff. Thank you Richard and Laurel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a Wonderful time at The England House. By far one of our Best B&B experiences yet. First of all Richard and Laurel are a pleasure to be around and are very informative of Northern Arizona. My husband and I went to the Grand Canyon and were given an awesome route that was stunning and ever changing. The breakfast was tasty every morning made from local organic ingredients. Fresh fruit, different fruit juices, and a new coffee daily. We stayed in the Star Gazer room which was beautifully decorated. The earring bed is so beautiful and the tempurpedic mattress was very comfortable. Not to mention the relaxing Jacuzzi tub. The decor around the whole house is tasteful/comfortable, and modern yet antique. Really loved the interior design. The house is also walking distance from downtown Flagstaff. That is all you need to get to the fun restaurants, bars, and local shopping. All in all we highly recommend staying here and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We only planned to stay one night at England House, but the hospitality innkeepers Laurel and Richard offered was so welcoming, we wish we had planned on a longer stay. Plus, there is so much to see and do in the Flagstaff area, it is definitely worth staying several nights to explore the area. We were welcomed so kindly by Richard, who gave us advice on a walking tour of nearby downtown Flagstaff, and restaurant recommmendations. His technique in marking a map is amazing to see, and so easy to understand. Our room, the Stone Cutter Suite, was spotless and so comfortable, with a separate sitting room with gas log fireplace and comfy chairs. We appreciated the mini refrigerator and tea kettle for late evening snacks. Laurel's breakfast the next morning was delicious, and the complimentary beverages in the inn refrigerator were a very nice touch. Laurel & Richard gave us so many good tips about what to see and do in Flagstaff: the Lowell Observatory, Museum of Northern Arizona, the Riordan House Museum, Walnut Canyon and Meteor Crater were all excellent sights they recommended. You could spend a week at Flagstaff visiting Grand Canyon, Sunset Crater, the San Francisco Peaks, Oak Creek Canyon/Sedona and Lake Powell, among other places near Flagstaff. We'll definitely be back to experience the comfort and hospitality of England House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at England House in January 2013, and had a perfectly lovely weekend. Richard and Laurel were warm and welcoming. They were more than happy to accommodate our special requests (i.e. food sensitivities and preferences) and were very helpful in choosing a restaurant at which to have dinner. Some things that really made the place special: cookies, fruit and wine waiting in the kitchen when we returned after dinner, a warm gas fire and cozy leather couch (we stayed in the Stone Cutter room), and the personalized attention from Richard and Laurel. The location is perfect - only a 5 minute walk to our favorite Flagstaff restaurants - and the house itself was clean and charming. I can't wait to return in the summer to enjoy the lovely deck!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely, but as we only stayed in Stone Cutter, I'd have to say it was the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I recently embarked upon, what I hope will be, our first of many stays at this charming bed and breakfast. Having never stayed at a B&B before, we were both a little apprehensive of what this experience might hold, but all fears were quickly put to ease the moment Richard opened the front door and greeted us with his warm smile and friendly welcome. Immediately it felt as though we had entered a friends home. Before venturing downtown, Richard gave us a brief, but informative and at times, rather comical, tour of the home and it's history in Flagstaff. The location simply could not be better, offering a vast array of shopping, dining and entertainment options within just a mere 5-10 minute walk. Our room (The Song Catcher) was a bright and airy space that was so inviting and truly made us feel at home. The best part of staying at a B&B , goes without saying and Laurel's mastery in the kitchen was well displayed by our scrumptious breakfast! Richard and Laurel have truly poured their heart and soul into this home and their passion for creating an exceptional and personalized experience for each unique guest is nothing short of inspiring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to England House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about England House B&B

Address: 614 W. Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Also Known As:
England House Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage England House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added England House B&B to your Saves list