We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of England House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
England House B&B
Save
You added England House B&B to your Saves list
614 W. Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adorable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

What a great place to stay while visiting Flagstaff!! It is very close to historical downtown, great breakfast, and very comfortable. Richard and Laurel are easy to talk to and sooo knowledgable about everything you might want to do including the best place to get gas!! It was a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
329
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glendale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A really nice couple owns and runs this B and B. They were very helpful and knowledgeable with local activities and sights. The breakfast was simply stellar. Feel comfortable staying here- you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

For my 30th birthday, my wife, my parents, and my in-laws all decided to treat me to a trip to the Grand Canyon. We decided to spend two days in Phoenix, two in Sedona, and one in Flagstaff. After staying at the England House, we wish we had spent every day there in Flagstaff.

The hospitality is beyond compare... The owners gave us the grand tour with the very entertaining Richard at the helm. Then they recommended a fantastic restaurant for dinner. The location is within walking distance from downtown... We only wish we had longer to explore all of the shops!

We came back and they had a spread of homemade cookies, awesome hot chocolates, teas, organic beers, etc. I even got to play a Taylor guitar for a while :)

We enjoyed the front porch, the bubble bath, and the incredible comfort of the room. They had a fan in the closet which was a nice touch because I have trouble sleeping without one.

The breakfast deserves special mention... Wow! Just wow! The gourmet fruit "soup" was an unexpected treat... They specially made my Egg Souflette with no onions because I hate them... And every thing was organic and tasty. The Organic Mango juice was awesome too.

The rest of our trip was a blast, but paled in comparison to the England House. Every piece of furniture and every item in every room has been carefully thought out to make your stay comfortable and beyond compare.

Next time, we'll stay here for the whole week.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent one fabulous night at this historic home, in the Stone Cutter's Room. The house is gorgeous, with combination of beautiful antiques and updated amenities. Laurel and Richard made us feel completely at home, with all-hours access to a well-stocked kitchen, and served an absolutely delicious homemade breakfast in the charming dining room in the morning. In addition, they provided invaluable recommendations regarding activities and dining options in the Grand Canyon and Sedona (we were en route to both locations), which proved to be the highlights of our trip thus far. We cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great house with a wonderful history. I loved the old vs. new - antique furniture and ornate detailing in combination with updated amenities and kitchen area. We have stayed in many B&Bs throughout AZ and this one is the best so far. Laurel and Richard provided a wealth of information regarding things to do in the area as well as a history lesson on the house. The breakfast was delicious and delivered in a beautiful setting. Our trip was exactly what we were hoping it to be. We will be stopping by again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the pantry which was very cozy and perfect for our 10 year anniversary. If you like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent one night at the England House, a beautifully restored historic house within walking distance of downtown Flagstaff. The owners (Richard and Laurel) welcomed us with a wealth of information and were available for consultations on restaurants and activities in the area. Our room (The Pantry) was tiny but elegantly furnished with a comfortable bed, luxurious linens and beautiful finishes. I didn't see any of the other rooms, but I imagine they're equally lovely. I'd probably spring for one of the larger rooms the next time. Breakfast at the England house was served on the back deck. The china and glassware, like everything in the house, was antique and elegant. The breakfast was delicious and Laurel was happy to share her recipes. I highly recommend the England House and would stay there again in a heartbeat. It's a great stop on the way to the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

When you drive up the street, you don't know if you're in the right neighborhood. But then you see the stonework and realize that it's the right place. Richard greeted us at the door with a great sense of humor. He gave us a tour of the house, explaining the 9 years of work that had gone into getting the house fit for guests. He and Laurel stay in a charming house behind the B&B so that you never feel like you're intruding on "their space". Lots of little extras, like mini Dove bars in the freezer, complimentary beers and sodas, coffee, etc make it that bit better than many other places.

The food is mostly organic, and sourced locally when possible. Breakfast was very tasty. Richard and Laurel are "foodies", and provided lots of good tips for dining out in the downtown area that is a short walk away. They also gave great suggestions for regional activities.

Yes, you hear the trains, but that's Northern Arizona - you hear trains EVERYWHERE if you stay in a town along the Santa Fe Railroad (Rte 66/ I-40).

The bed is a memory-foam mattress that allowed my wife to sleep undisturbed all night despite the trains!

We will definitely stay here again when we visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to England House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about England House B&B

Address: 614 W. Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
England House Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage England House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.