We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn to your Saves list
Budget Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   913 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Usa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Out of all the hotels where I reserved rooms for our AZ / NM road trip, I was most concerned about this one. For starters, I only had a verbal confirmation, no email. That made me nervous. However, everything worked out just fine. The hotel is older (no pool), but it was clean and comfortable. There was no breakfast, but there was coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby and a fridge and microwave in the room. It is not a destination, but it is perfect for passing through. The hotels in Flagstaff seem very expensive. I chose this one based on the good reviews it had and the price was right. Behind the hotel is the Galaxy Diner. A great retro diner where you can get good comfort food and a Route 66 experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    156
    58
    5
    6
See reviews for
69
120
24
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Ill start off with the fact that I love flagstaff, it was my first time and its a lovely place and the inn is very conveniently located, and near enough for a trip to the Grand Canyon

However, when returning from the Grand Canyon at 9pm we got to our room.. And the door was just left wide open???!!!!!!!!

I was FUMING all of our stuff was in this room?! And it's a motel so anyone driving past can just see the door open!! What the hell!!!!

We went down to reception to complain and all the guy did was agree with us that it was poor, and that we still had 2/3 nights with them. I doubt it was followed up. What would have happened if our room was looted?! Sheesh.

Seriously how can you be a maid and just leave the room open? She hadn't even emptied the trash or replaced anything! All she did was make the bed! What a risk! It's a shame because both of us liked it here but we can't take chances with a complacent maid - we left the do not disturb on the door for the rest of our stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way back from the Grand Canyon. The room was very clean and comfortable! No complaints, except the price (which was probably high due to holiday weekend) and no clock in the room.
The owner or manager was great. We left something in the room and he was kind enough to mail it back to us, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Clean, microwave, fridge, super comfy bed and pillows, flat screen TV. No frills here, just a nice place to stay for a low rate. We stopped here while driving through Flagstaff because of the reviews. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We typically don't stay in these types of motels because they usually are run down or not very clean. This was not the case with the Budget Inn. While it's an older motel, it was very well maintained and very clean. The towels were thin and small, but that was a small inconvenience considering there was a fridge and microwave that worked well, an A/C that worked well, it was quiet, had a comfortable bed and all the amenities usually provided in the upscale motels. The location was great and if we ever visit Flagstaff overnight, we will for sure be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Clean room, convenient location, good value. Stayed overnight while traveling through Flagstaff and was impressed with the extras in room at the very reasonable price. Would stay there again
passing through Flagstaff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euclid, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

As name suggests, this will appeal primarily to budget travelers. Our rate was $60/night, although it may have been available for $50 if we had waited for Hotwire price to decline. There are several features about this property that will exceed budget traveler expectations. Room size and modern furnishings are decidedly better than most budget hotels. Location (across street from Embassy Suites Hotel and Northern Arizona University campus) is safe and convenient to many eateries (I recommend Galaxy Diner, Bun Hugger & Salsa Brava, for non-chain options), quality micro-breweries (Beaver Street Brewery, Brews & Cues, and Mother Road), and downtown historic district (check out Charley's in old hotel as well as Flagstaff Visitor Center in old train station). Finally, I would be remiss not to mention Mr. Patel, the exceptionally friendly and helpful innkeeper (who lives at Budget Inn), from whom you can get excellent tips on area vacation considerations of all sorts. Drive to Grand Canyon from hotel took us no more than 1:45 mins each way and was beautiful trip through Coconino National Park with its majestic Ponderosa pines, Birch tree stands, and views of Mt. Humphrey's 12,000 snow capped peak. Four nights at hotel and not a single thing to complain about. Would give higher rating than 3 stars but it was not a resort, just a very good budget inn.

Room Tip: Upper floor room was good; probably farther away from Milton Rd is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 913 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.