We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and still terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horsemen Lodge Restaurant

Horsemen Lodge Restaurant
8500 North Highway 89, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
+1 928-526-2655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 283 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: After opening in 1975, The Horsemen Lodge quickly became a popular hangout for Babbitt cowboys working on the CO Bar ranch. The restaurant-named "Horsemen" in the effort to pay homage to the ranching lifestyle-is decorated with authentic cowboy attire, memorabilia, and artwork. This way, The Horsemen Lodge doesn't just offer a hearty, cowboy-inspired menu, but it also offers an overall Southwestern experience.
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
“overpriced and still terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW via mobile

Hubby and I took a chance going here on a rare date night out. Having not been here for about 8 years as the food was terrible then we were very optimistic about the place seeming to be new. The inside was much brighter than I remembered and the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The food is another thing. Hubby ordered the prime rib which the outside was inedible and the rest he made edible with copious amounts of horseradish. My ribeye steak was just eh but I really would have loved some steak sauce to make it have any flavor. Overcooked and bland. They still have a salad bar which I think is silly in a supposed nicer steak place. With undercooked pasta salad in the mix as well. We also ordered crab stuffed mushrooms with no crab to be found. As a sides we got the twice baked potato which was ok and Mac n cheese. The Mac n cheese was just weird having some kind of peppers and corn in it! We were totally disappointed in this place and then after leaving and it hitting us, hey we just paid a ton of money and that sucked, we called the owner to let them know their shortcomings , but after waiting on hold for 10 solid minutes the owner would hardly let hubby get his comments in before rather rudely interrupting after each part hubby brought up. Won't be going back here for sure.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Steakhous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Visited on a Friday for dinner. Had the 14 oz. ribeye, husband had the 22 oz. ribeye with potatoes au gratin. Delicious cornbread brought to your table. Salad buffet and soup included with steak, so sides aren't necessary. Good selection of items at the salad buffet. Had a very pleasant dinner, no dessert or alcoholic beverages; total bill with iced tea , including tip was about $80. Service ok but could use improvement on the details. My menu was not removed, could not get server's attention for another napkin, and utensils were removed before I finished my meal.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Filet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

My aged filet was delicious. And the cole slaw and the steak and potato soup were delicious. My wife's crab cakes were a little too spicy with too much filler (not enough crab), but she cleaned her plate. Definitely a place to return.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We visited here being told by a friend about their lunches. The food was very good. It is under new ownership and it's very clean and nice. Lunch was a bit more than I wanted to spend ($28 for 2 people) and I want to suggest to the new owners that they lower their prices . Yes, the food is good, but most people in our town can't/won't afford lunch at those prices. We looked at the dinner menu and feel the same way. I think the owners would have more customers if the prices were a bit lower. Food is good! Wish the new owners the best as we like the location and the western theme.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic... Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Everything from the time we walked into the restaurant and being greeted by Shelby to the the taste and presentation of the food and the overall atmosphere was just Fantastic. The pricing is fair and comparable to other steak houses in town. They have cleaned it up and looks Fantastic.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsemen Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Horsemen Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horsemen Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.