We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Highland Country Inn to your Saves list
Highland Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Gatton, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This motel is great value, it's cheap, it's safe, and the customer service is good. We pulled up at just about midnight after having issues with our hire car in Los Angeles, and were welcomed when we pressed the buzzer in the middle of the night. That time of night, I wouldn't expect anyone to be overly happy about getting up, but it was no trouble at all. It's clean & serves its purpose great. 1.30hrs to the Grand Canyon, for the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    162
    74
    11
    6
See reviews for
59
121
38
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were spotless and it was one of the cheapest places to stay in town! Exactly what we needed for a quick stopover in flagstaff on our way to see the grand canyon. The bed was a little bit harder than I would prefer, but that's just preference. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Highland Country Inn for three nights because it was it was fairly close to the Grand Canyon and the Petrified Forest. The hotel is next door to a grocery store and a very short drive to all of the fast foods as well as Walgreens and Targets. They did not provide breakfast, but we could get hot coffee, chocolate and a variety of teas anytime the office was open, which was until 8:00 pm. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and told us about a restaurant a few doors down called “Mike and Ronda’s” that served an excellent breakfast. They also gave us directions to the different places we wanted to visit. The rooms were recently renovated. They had new linens, carpet and paint. The next update was to replace the old televisions with flat screens. There was also a refrigerator and a microwave. Overall, I thought the hotel was clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. I would definitely recommend Highland Country Inn to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Clean good hotel with well insulated rooms. Bathroom with good shower and all necessaries. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Only negative point is the location: at the corner of two busy roads with heavy trafic.
We had to walk about 10 minutes to find a restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Overall an average one night stop. Hotel staff is quite nice, location is good to get to the Grand Canyon. Rooms are clean and convenient. Flagstaff is not a wonderfull place to stay, not more than a stop on your way to the Grand Canyon. Walking distance from downtown, parking lots are awkward but if you are lucky, you will get a parking lot just under your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Branch, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good location. Clean, had everything you need. Parking lot is really awkward, but in town motels always have space limitations. Nothing spectacular about this place, nothing bad either. There was no coffee in the room which these days is unusual, but coffee was available in the lobby. Ok for the price.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here the night of April 20 on my way to the Grand Canyon. The location is great, a short distance to downtown, very walkable. Front desk staff was friendly on check in. My room (two double beds), while not huge, was clean, up to date, well appointed (including a microwave and refrigerator), and quiet. WiFi Internet access was good. Coffee was available in the lobby in the morning. If all you're looking for is a place to crash for the night, at $67ish for the night, this place is a gem! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.