We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spic and span place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Highland Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spic and span place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were spotless and it was one of the cheapest places to stay in town! Exactly what we needed for a quick stopover in flagstaff on our way to see the grand canyon. The bed was a little bit harder than I would prefer, but that's just preference. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    154
    73
    11
    6
See reviews for
52
112
37
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Highland Country Inn for three nights because it was it was fairly close to the Grand Canyon and the Petrified Forest. The hotel is next door to a grocery store and a very short drive to all of the fast foods as well as Walgreens and Targets. They did not provide breakfast, but we could get hot coffee, chocolate and a variety of teas anytime the office was open, which was until 8:00 pm. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and told us about a restaurant a few doors down called “Mike and Ronda’s” that served an excellent breakfast. They also gave us directions to the different places we wanted to visit. The rooms were recently renovated. They had new linens, carpet and paint. The next update was to replace the old televisions with flat screens. There was also a refrigerator and a microwave. Overall, I thought the hotel was clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. I would definitely recommend Highland Country Inn to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Clean good hotel with well insulated rooms. Bathroom with good shower and all necessaries. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Only negative point is the location: at the corner of two busy roads with heavy trafic.
We had to walk about 10 minutes to find a restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Overall an average one night stop. Hotel staff is quite nice, location is good to get to the Grand Canyon. Rooms are clean and convenient. Flagstaff is not a wonderfull place to stay, not more than a stop on your way to the Grand Canyon. Walking distance from downtown, parking lots are awkward but if you are lucky, you will get a parking lot just under your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Branch, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good location. Clean, had everything you need. Parking lot is really awkward, but in town motels always have space limitations. Nothing spectacular about this place, nothing bad either. There was no coffee in the room which these days is unusual, but coffee was available in the lobby. Ok for the price.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here the night of April 20 on my way to the Grand Canyon. The location is great, a short distance to downtown, very walkable. Front desk staff was friendly on check in. My room (two double beds), while not huge, was clean, up to date, well appointed (including a microwave and refrigerator), and quiet. WiFi Internet access was good. Coffee was available in the lobby in the morning. If all you're looking for is a place to crash for the night, at $67ish for the night, this place is a gem! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This room was a bargain for our one night stay. It was clean and comfortable and looked fairly new.

I like these US motel style places where you can park right next to your room (plus it feels like you are in a film!).

Guy at check in was friendly.

Flagstaff on a Saturday night was disappointing (it was dead!). I thought this was a University town!!?? The only thing happening was a huge passenger train that had pulled up at the station with lots of people getting off. All the bars and restaurants were empty!

We ended up at the Lowell observatory which was mildly interesting but expensive admission for what you saw. We queued to see Jupiter (or a small white dot that we were told was Jupiter), then tried to queue to see the moon through the main telescope but this was taking forever.

Had breakfast at Dennys down the road from the Motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Flagstaff
#4 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.