We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a great nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Highland Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value for a great nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place is nothing special. But it is a great value. The staff/owners are very accommodating, the room was very quiet, comfortable and clean. The temperature regulation control of the room worked, which seems to be hard to find these days. We arrived very late at night to find out that booking.com, never notified the hotel of our reservations. The staff was very accommodating and had a room for us. The property is less than a mile from downtown and there is a great dinner 1 block away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    144
    69
    11
    6
See reviews for
47
106
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We read the other reviews and decided to chance it. They are in the process of completely remodeling the rooms and are about half way there. The paint lines are straight and clean! Important sign of a solid effort to do it right. The motel is older but being done right. Clean and comfy, no frills, but priced right. We will return the next time we are in town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We hadn't booked anywhere to stay in Flagstaff and wanted somewhere near to the town centre that wasn't too expensive to spend the night before heading up to the Grand Canyon. The Highland Country Inn was more than sufficient. We asked for a room with a view of the mountains and probably got the only one as most seemed to look out over the car park - the view was great to wake up to in the morning though and glad we asked.

The room was fairly basic but massive and importantly for me clean. It had a tiny bathroom which, whilst adequate, seemed a shame as the bathroom could have been double the size and the bedroom would have still been bigger than most! The room didn't have a coffee machine (though there was one in the reception) or an iron / ironing board but it did have a TV, fridge, microwave and a hair dryer.

There was no noize from the road or the railway so we had a decent sleep. Overall I think it was good value for the price we paid (walking in $67 inc tax).

Flagstaff is a great little town and I would recommend people visit if in the area - there are lots of restaurants and bars all within walking distance of the Highland Country Inn or to drive was 2 minutes with lots of parking spaces available in the town. There was no breakfast at the hotel so we had a nice, big and cheap breakfast at the Downtown Diner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose this motel because f the price on booking dot com. We paid 48 US and even though that is without tax, it still was a good price. Rooms are OK and staff are OK. Not overly interested or helpful but not rude either. It's an 8 minute stroll to downtown which has great restaurants and bars. Flagstaff is a great little town because of all the students, it has lots to go for. We tried one of the (3!) Thai restaurants and the Irish pub Collins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed in this motel just one night. The room was very plain and not very attractive. The usual polyester patterned bedspread and matching drapes. Plain. Clean room; carpet was decent. Wireless worked fine. There is a fridge in every room, I believe; in my room, it was set on top of a white wooden structure, kind of tacky. Rooms do not have phones or coffee-makers, but they do have microwaves. I noticed how quiet the room was, in spite of the motel seemingly being pretty full that night, so I think the walls and doors are well-insulated. Desk clerk was polite but did not offer extra info. Bed was firm, and nothing special, but I was able to sleep on it, so it was not uncomfortable. TV is a large tube TV, not HD. All in all, an adequate little space, but nothing pretty, cheerful, or attractive. Oh and great location! Within walking distance of NAU and downtown, right on the main drag, Milton. No pets allowed, btw.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would rate this a 3.5 but that's not an option. We paid $79 before taxes and chose this because we like a fridge/microwave and being within walking distance of bars and restaurants. After getting into town there seemed to be many motels nearby which were similar but the Highland had better reviews. Getting coffee in the lobby was not bad and the room was clean. One complaint is the fan came on with the light in the bathroom and was extremly loud. Fine place if you're just looking for a room.

Room Tip: Might as well get one on the lower level because they are all the same and there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Will certainly stay here again. The owner seems to take really good care of the place. It's only about a mile from downtown so we just walked everywhere from the hotel. It's not fancy but the price is great. The Internet is a little slow and there isn't a coffee maker in the room but you can get coffee from the front desk in the morning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Hotel
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn
Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.