We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Highland Country Inn to your Saves list
Highland Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
London UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose this motel because f the price on booking dot com. We paid 48 US and even though that is without tax, it still was a good price. Rooms are OK and staff are OK. Not overly interested or helpful but not rude either. It's an 8 minute stroll to downtown which has great restaurants and bars. Flagstaff is a great little town because of all the students, it has lots to go for. We tried one of the (3!) Thai restaurants and the Irish pub Collins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjp1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed in this motel just one night. The room was very plain and not very attractive. The usual polyester patterned bedspread and matching drapes. Plain. Clean room; carpet was decent. Wireless worked fine. There is a fridge in every room, I believe; in my room, it was set on top of a white wooden structure, kind of tacky. Rooms do not have phones or coffee-makers, but they do have microwaves. I noticed how quiet the room was, in spite of the motel seemingly being pretty full that night, so I think the walls and doors are well-insulated. Desk clerk was polite but did not offer extra info. Bed was firm, and nothing special, but I was able to sleep on it, so it was not uncomfortable. TV is a large tube TV, not HD. All in all, an adequate little space, but nothing pretty, cheerful, or attractive. Oh and great location! Within walking distance of NAU and downtown, right on the main drag, Milton. No pets allowed, btw.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank graciaandzuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
211 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would rate this a 3.5 but that's not an option. We paid $79 before taxes and chose this because we like a fridge/microwave and being within walking distance of bars and restaurants. After getting into town there seemed to be many motels nearby which were similar but the Highland had better reviews. Getting coffee in the lobby was not bad and the room was clean. One complaint is the fan came on with the light in the bathroom and was extremly loud. Fine place if you're just looking for a room.

Room Tip: Might as well get one on the lower level because they are all the same and there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Will certainly stay here again. The owner seems to take really good care of the place. It's only about a mile from downtown so we just walked everywhere from the hotel. It's not fancy but the price is great. The Internet is a little slow and there isn't a coffee maker in the room but you can get coffee from the front desk in the morning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CajunCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room and bathroom were spotless. There was plenty of parking. It was quiet at night. And, the motel is located downtown just across the street from NAU. No pool or jacuzzi. No breakfast or adjoining restaurant. Just a straightforward, clean, quiet lodging. I would stay there again without hesitation. Flagstaff motels are pricey during eventful weekends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Milonguero23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not an attractive building but the location is good. Easy access to the highway and easy walk to the historic part of town. Lots of bars and restaurants near by. Organic grocer across the road. 
The room is adequate. Clean and equipped with fridge and micro wave. Comfortable beds and good water pressure in shower. Tea, coffee, etc, available all day from the office. 
Friendly, helpful staff with directions. Would stay here again. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgjde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was a little small, but suited us ok. We had a great night sleep as the beds and pillows were comfy. Microwaves and fridge in the room is nice, but no coffee in the room. The coffee is at the reception desk. The staff at the front desk was friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level by the vending machines, and we didn't hear a lot of noise from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.1 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#16 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 64 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing