We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price Great Location Great Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Highland Country Inn to your Saves list
Highland Country Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Price Great Location Great Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I travel to Flagstaff for fun and hiking once a year. I like an area not to far from Old Town Flagstaff and convenient to Route 66, this motel has both. The price is exceptionally reasonable. The rooms, basic but very clean and comfortable. They have remodeled some rooms and they are using "tiki" like furnishings which are quite durable! Each room has a tv., fridge and microwave. They only provide "free" wi-fi in your room. You have about a 12 block walk to the restaurants, shops and coffee clacks. NAU (Northern Arizona University) is across the street. Movie theature is 1.3 miles away and Barnes and Noble, Bun Hut, Dairy Queen are all two-four blocks away. This motel is on the way to the Grand Canyon so it's a quick jaunt in the morning. All and all awesome price for a budget motel. Remember this a budget motel, but it clean, nicely furnished and a welcome relief to a weary traveler.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    161
    74
    11
    6
See reviews for
58
121
38
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The small motel is within walking distance of the town centre and easy to find as it is on a main road. Check-in was fast and friendly but car park a bit cramped due to the layout of the plot. The room was clean and everything was working, bed was comfortable and considering the location it was not noisy at night. The price was very competitive so that was a bonus too. This is not exactly luxury but it isn't claiming to be. Perfect stopover place.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

First time I've stayed at this location. Neat, clean and competitively priced. Parking lot needs to be larger.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My friend and I were on a cross-country road trip in July 2012 from Michigan to California and back. We were on our way back home, and our first night on the journey back home landed us in Flagstaff. Prior to this trip, I was looking for an acceptable place to stay that was reasonably priced. Most of the hotels in Flagstaff with good TripAdvisor reviews were outrageously expensive, but on the other hand, most hotels within our price range had awful reviews on here. I was getting frustrated looking for a place to stay when I finally came across the Highland Country Inn. In general, we were very pleased.

The check-in process was quick and easy. The lobby was small and clean. It was funny though, because this hotel is owned by a family and the little toddler girl was behind the desk kind of "greeting" me with a giggle and a smile in addition to the attendant (maybe the owner and his granddaughter?). Anyway, it was relatively easy to get to this facility (a couple miles off I-40 but not difficult to find).

The room was quite nice. The TV and remote control worked very well (some hotel rooms have TV remotes that are so slow to change the channels, but not this one). The room was clean and comfortable. Parking was a bit limited and we weren't able to park right by our room, but it was acceptable nonetheless.

The only downsides to the hotel were that they didn't offer breakfast and that it was still a little pricey for what it was. (I think my total came to $90 or $100 with tax, but because of the lack of amenities it really should have been a bit cheaper than that.) I won't complain, though, because it was very acceptable and a much better price than a lot of other hotels in Flagstaff. A swimming pool would have been nice, but there was none.

In the morning when we checked out, all I had to do was drop our room keys in the key box outside the office. No problems whatsoever.

I would recommend the Highland Country Inn to anyone looking for a basic place to stay in Flagstaff and not spend a ton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, OK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed two different times for a total of three nights at the Highland. Our experiences were very positive.

Check in was quick, clerk was friendly. Room was clean, spacious and free of odors. Showers worked well. Beds comfortable. No problems with exterior or neighbor noise.

My biggest comment about this property is the parking. Because of the layout, do not expect to be able to park in front of your hotel door. Not really an issue because we were always able to pull up and load/unload and then seek a proper parking place.

Bottom line: I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The room was very affordable, the staff were kind (we were upgraded to a king bed, just because!), and it was a great place to rest while visiting the Canyon. It's well-maintained and we even liked the little touches like the good-quality shampoos and soaps. It was the best place we stayed on our road trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

This family of 5 needed a room for the night on a road trip and Highland Country Inn hit the spot. Great value, clean rooms and super fast checkin/checkout service. Many no-frills joints are poorly maintained, but not here. Well worth the stay and highly reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.