We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antonio Aizon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
1175 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6213
+1 928-773-8880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 257 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Fresno, California
1 review
“Antonio Aizon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Antonio Aizon served me with the best meal I have ever had and he was entertaining for the whole family! I will surely come again if he is still a Teppanyaki chef:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you! We'll look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    39
    14
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dorsten, Germany
1 review
“A good performance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed to watch how our food was prepared in front of us. The food and the performance all in all were excellent. Finally we had a very good time there. Our Kids experienced this event for their first time and they evaluate everything as well excellent. Due to the fact that they are a bit special when it comes to food, a compliment from the highest order. We were served by Alesha and the Chef Antonio, both of them were friendly, even funny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and review. We truly appreciate the recommendation and will share your comments with our Chefs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went to Sakura for lunch, and had a great time. Food was great, and chef Antonio skillful, fun, and exciting to watch. My only compliant it was too quite, no music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your lunch at Sakura. Thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pictures, please... I need some rolls, people....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Staying in the woodlands hotel, I decided to do things local-ish. Three rolls, spicy tuna, and lots of other nummies... Bill total for two, 56... without drinks. Great service. Little steep on prices. I'm still on the fence about this place though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for dining at Sakura during your recent stay at Woodlands Hotel. We'll do our very best to 'WOW' you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Me and my family loves Japanese food, but NOT at Sakura at Flagstaff. The food was horrible (especially the fried rice which was very dry) and the crew wasn't really friendly. It was all about to hurry up. Our chef-kok was Rudy, who forgot the sauces, the butter at the rice and played too much with fire and our server was Alesha, who wasn't very interested in her customers. Even the woman at the desk was very unfriendly. Conclusion: it was a horrible evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, General Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
(posted on behalf of Michael Rock, General Manager)
Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience at Sakura and thank you for your valuable feedback. I will follow up with the chef responsible for your table and make sure that we are delivering a high quality of food, service, as well as a fun show for all to enjoy. I am confident that this was an isolated incident as this chef receives great reviews from guests and I apologize that you didn't experience our best on your recent visit. I have also passed your comments on to the team that works at the front desk to make sure every guest is offered a warm welcome and receives great service. Thanks again for your feedback so we can properly follow up with our team.

Michael Rock
General Manager
Woodlands Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.