We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trail ride experience-beautiful setting, and staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hitchin' Post Stables

Hitchin' Post Stables
4848 Lake Mary Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 85001
+1 928-774-1719
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 attractions in Flagstaff
Type: Equestrian Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We provide horseback and trail riding for the Grand Canyon, Flagstaff, Arizona area, and if you want to experience the best horses, the best scenery, the best wranglers, than you don't want to miss a day of riding in the Coconino National Forest. This is the largest National Forest in the US, and it has miles of horseback trails with scenic beauty, spectacular views, quiet solitude, and the Arizona Trail is accessible from our stables. 1 Hour Ride = $55; 2 Hour Ride = $100; 3 Hour Ride = $150; 4 Hour Ride = $180; 6 Hour Ride = $240; 8 Hour Ride = $300. Wagon Ride = $45 (children 4 and under ride for FREE). Cowboy Meals: Adult Cowboy Dinner = $40 (Steak or chicken, cowboy baked beans, salad, Texas toast & choice of a drink). Child Cowboy Dinner = $20 (Burgers or hotdogs, cowboy baked beans, salad, Texas toast, & choice of drink). Cowboy Lunch = $20 (burgers or hotdogs, potato salad, choice of drink). Cowboy Breakfast = $10 (bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, juice or coffee). Pack Lunch = $25 (This will go with you on your ride. Choice of sandwich, potato salad, chips and choice of drink).
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trail ride experience-beautiful setting, and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great time!!! Hitchin Post was the perfect way to end a fabulous Flagstaff summer. While we have lived in Flagstaff for more than 20 years, we've never taken the time to stop at Hitchin Post. At the request of out of town guests, I agreed to book a trail ride. Sorry it took me this long, what a great time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelaP, Front Office Manager at Hitchin' Post Stables, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the positive response! And we are happy that you stopped by :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    15
    5
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ride for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The kids really enjoyed the ride - one of the highlights of our trip! Great stables, amazing scenery and well-groomed trails. Staff very nice. Our trail guide was quiet but nice. Would have been good if she told us more about area/horses but was very experienced and helpful when we asked a question. We would highly recommend this - a great family activity!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelaP, Front Office Manager at Hitchin' Post Stables, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Fellow Rider!
Thank you for the positive response! We hope to ride with you and your lovely family again soon.
Sincerely,
Your Friends at Hitchin' Post Stables
(928) 774-1719
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We took our 5 year old to Hitchin Post to see if he'd like to ride with us. Julianne was very helpful and understanding when our little one decided not to ride, so she introduced him to the stable's resident donkey and goats. He also watched a big horse have its shoes changed while my husband and I rode with Tim for an hour (our son was with his babysitter - the stables don't do childcare). Tim was fun and informative. We had a great time and plan to go back to see if we can get our son on one of their sweet ponies.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelaP, Front Office Manager at Hitchin' Post Stables, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Fellow Rider!
Thank you for the positive response! I will let Wrangler Julianne know you enjoyed your ride and we hope to ride with you and your little one again soon.
Sincerely,
Your Friends at Hitchin' Post Stables
(928) 774-1719
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Very Enjoyable, even for inexperienced riders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a great 2 hour ride with Julianne as our trail guide. We went through Fay Canyon and found some beautiful meadows of wildflowers. There was a little uphill and downhill, just enough to make it interesting. For the inexperienced riders, Julianne recommended the mules (Radar and Ruth) for a smoother ride. I wasn't sore like I had been on previous trail rides on a bigger horse. Great views and very pleasant experience. I would recommend Hichin' Post Stables and their staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelaP, Front Office Manager at Hitchin' Post Stables, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Fellow Rider!
Thank you for the positive response! I will let Wrangler Julianne know you enjoyed your ride and we hope to ride with you again soon.
Sincerely,
Your Friends at Hitchin' Post Stables
(928) 774-1719
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
“I rode a mule!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a great and friendly staff! It was suggested I experience the ride of a mule since it is much easier on the hips and by golly it is true! I will recommend Hitchin' Post to everyone who is interested in taking a ride in the pines. It was beautiful!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelaP, Front Office Manager at Hitchin' Post Stables, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Fellow Rider!
Thank you for the positive comment! Know that our mules love you too and look forward to riding with you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Your Friends at Hitchin' Post Stables
(928) 774-1719
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hitchin' Post Stables also viewed

 

Been to Hitchin' Post Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hitchin' Post Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hitchin' Post Stables to your Saves list