We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't understand all the hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salsa Brava East

Salsa Brava East
2220 E Rte 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-5004
(928) 779-5293
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 257 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Didn't understand all the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were referred to Salsa Brava to try the "best Mexican food in Flagstaff" so our hopes and expectations were high. The place is very cute, loved the atmosphere right off the bat. Waited about 25 min for a table for our party of 5, not too bad on a busy Sunday night. Loved the salsa bar...what a cool idea! Tried a bunch, all were great. The actual dinner left some to be desired. My meal was wrong, what I was brought didn't seem like what I ordered. Steak I stead of chicken and my tortillas were supposed to be grilled and weren't. Ate it anyway cause we were starving! Maybe we are just used to Tex Mex style Mexican food cause everything seemed bland. An okay experience but won't return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    154
    74
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oh well.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What is the big deal with this place? Mediocre at best! They could do so much better. Great decor, fun atmosphere, one of the better patios in town.The food is a let down, the margaritas are passable. Come on Chef!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great Salsa Bar and chips. Navaho tacos very tasty and too big to eat. Mole Chicken very good. Reasonable prices, varied menu. Friendly server.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Satisfies after a day of hiking at the Grand Canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After visiting the park about an hours drive away we arrived into Flagstaff hungry and hoping for Mexican food. The receptionist at our hotel recommended this place, and it was a great choice. It's right on the old route 66, and as soon as you walk in the atmosphere of this place really jumps at you. It smells good, the walls are colorful and well decorated, and we knew we had come to the right place. Once seated you get served chips and are invited to use their salsa bar. The varieties of salsa are all good, though I must say the chips were pretty weak. Everyone in my party enjoyed their meals though, as did I. The food was tasty and filling, and the service decent. But the atmosphere is what really stood out to me and made this such a nice experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great salsa bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate there on a Tuesday night the place was full. First they start you off with chips and a 6 item salsa bar, all very good. I had the special ,large platter with chipotle chicken enchiladas that came with blk beans and rice. $9.99 very good. My husband had Maui tacos very nice with great flavours. $10.99. Brother in law had mole chicken which had a really nice mole sauce.$10.99. Sister in law had fry bread with chicken$10.99.
Great meal would definitely go back .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Brava East also viewed

 

Been to Salsa Brava East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salsa Brava East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.