We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Route 66 Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Railroad Cafe

Crown Railroad Cafe
3300 E Rte 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-4031
(928) 522-9237
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 291 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Restaurant details
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Route 66 Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

While staying in Flagstaff, we looked for restaurants which served breakfast or brunch. This one came up during the search. It is as good as it gets for old style friendly service and good food.
We liked the simple layout and I liked "those" potatoes for breakfast. They also have a model train which circles the eating area (near the ceiling) which is a nice effect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    11
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“French Fry Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Do you like fries that stay crisp? No limp fries here. The pastrami Ruben is amazing, so is the fish and chips. Burgers are their specialties and there are dozens to choose from.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We liked the old, nostalgic feel of the diner. The food was excellent and priced right. The staff was friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good breakfast stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a good place to stop for families especially. They have trains going around high on the walls and it can distract the kids while you are waiting for the food. Good wholesome eats - and reasonably price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Get the baked goods!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was not far from our night's lodgings so we went in for a light dinner just before 7 p.m. The two waitresses seemed very harried and they were out of things they shouldn't have been out of -
soup, and ice cream! (I wanted a malt.) The place also looks a little shop-worn - the bench where we sat was torn, for instance.
The décor is all railroad, and you can definitely watch the big trains go by while you're dining here -- the tracks are just the other side of the street.
We settled on a cup of chili (standard stuff) and a ham and cheese on rye (good).
We had the apple pie and the cheesecake for dessert. Excellent excellent excellent. The pie is obviously homemade, very fresh -- perfect crust, apples baked just right. The cheesecake was exactly right - not too light or too sweet.
We had noticed huge dinner rolls going by on other people's plates so we asked if we could get two to go, to have with breakfast the next day. The waitress said they should still be fine for breakfast, because they had just been baked that evening. She also showed us the breakfast biscuits - also huge! - which she said would be fresh the next morning if we preferred biscuits. We settled for the rolls and they are amazing! They are flaky almost like a croissant, but in a standard dinner roll shape - and about the size of your fist! They were SO good!
I'd stop here next time we're in Flag just to buy the baked goods. Surprisingly, they don't seem to be set up to sell just the baked goods, but the staff was very helpful and accommodated us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Railroad Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Crown Railroad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Railroad Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.