We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Food In Flag” 5 of 5 stars
Review of August Moon Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
August Moon Chinese Restaurant
1300 S Milton Rd Ste 111, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6354
(928) 774-5280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 291 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food In Flag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had this food ordered for a work lunch party, I thought it was the best chinese food in Flagstaff that I've had (better than China Garden and Golden Dragon). I would defiently order from this place again. Also the staff was very nice!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent, a bit hit or miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We ordered delivery, which took about twenty five minutes. Both the woman who took our order and the man who brought us our food were friendly and helpful. The shrimp with snow peas was great. The combo #4 ( sweet and sour pork and cashew chicken) was alright. The sweet and sour pork was pretty bland, nothing special. But the cashew chicken was great! Tons of flavor and lots of food. The rice portions were huge! The egg roll es the best part; it was a bit sweet and perfectly crunchy. Should have gotten a bunch of those!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Only chinese to eat in Flagstaff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Although August Moon lacks 5 stars for its lack of atmosphere (although some attempt is made) it more than makes up for it with good food, clean kitchen and freindly service. It is the only chinese we locals eat because it is small and family run. The owners, Eric and Diane will seat you at your table, take your order and serve it while making sure all your needs are met. Great food, great service!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“You call that Chinese”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I visited this restaurant while in the area because it was said by hotel staff that it was the best in Flagstaff. In my opinion not so much.
We ordered chicken egg foo yung and chicken chow mein plus a bowl of egg drop soup to boot. The ingredients were: lots of mushrooms in both dishes, lots of carrots and broccoli, a smattering of bean sprouts, cabbage (not chinese). Now I ask you, what besides bean sprouts is traditional chinese food ingredients?
The egg drop soup, called egg flower soup here, had very little egg in it but here again, peas and carrots.
I don't understand why the Chinese think they have to "Americanise" their food to please our tastes here in America. I want Chinese veggies in my Chinese food. Leave out broccoli, carrots, mushrooms, peas and cabbage. Put in bean sprouts, water chestnuts and all that other good stuff.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
1 review
“Excellent! Again and again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We aren't Chinese food aficionados, but when we order out we get Fried crab cheese puff, Mongolian Beef, and kung pao chicken. No one ever complains! I really enjoy it! ...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed August Moon Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to August Moon Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage August Moon Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.