We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of China Star Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Star Restaurant
1802 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-5125
928-774-8880
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 280 restaurants in Flagstaff
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Buffet
Kingman, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I don't think anything there was made from scratch. Everything tasted the same yucky flavor. The food was not kept hot enough. I don't care if ther was steam coming from the steam table is was all lukewarm. Service was alright except not one person asked if everything was alright. You pay as you enter. Nobody said Hello. Nobody said Good Bye....Never again will I stop here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    5
    20
    18
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Plenty of food to choose from. Not especially great tasting, just okay. Carpet needs to be changed badly. Servers were attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You cannot beat the price for fresh food and good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a buffet, all you can eat restaurant. For the price and the freshness of the food, you would be hard pressed to find a better place.
For a $7 dollar lunch, I like to know where you could find better hot, fresh, pretty tasty food? Three rows of Chinese style food, noodles, rice, broccoli beef, steamed cod, sauteed whole shrimp in the shell, vegetable stir fry, hot and sour soup, won ton soup etc., etc. A dessert aisle with self serve ice cream, cake and jello.
Of course it isn't going to be the best Chinese food I ever ate. The food was fresh, plentiful, and a deal with a free drink.. What is not to like?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabogie, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just so-so food. Not the best Chinese food I've eaten, lots of variety, but mainly fried stuff. Not well-labelled so not sure what I was eating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“China Star Buffet serves good food for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I went to this buffet after seeing some of the reviews online while up in Flagstaff for the weekend.

It was very busy and the food was demolished each time a new tray was brought out. They moved as fast as they could, but demand was greater than supply at the time and they ran out of some things at times. Usually was filled within 10 minutes.

Many good dishes. I liked the sesame chicken and pizza. The ribs were also good, as well as the egg rolls. It was reasonably priced. The 10 percent coupon that we got from our hotel was also a good deal. We will be back the next time we stay in Flagstaff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Star Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to China Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Star Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.