We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible horrible people” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Canyon Inn to your Saves list
Canyon Inn
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   501 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible horrible people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Made a 2-night reservation with James for a busy weekend a month in advance. Talked to the owner, James, and got a rate and confirmation number. Volunteered to give him a deposit and he said it wasn't necessary. Called today as a courtesy to confirm; prices have been increased by 25% and Gretchen (who claimed she was daughter of owner) was sure I was lying about the reservation and hung up on me. Said James was out of the country but when I called back he answered and said property is only available at the higher price. And then had the nerve to claim I was rude ... really?

AVOID AT ALL COST!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    9
    7
    50
See reviews for
31
29
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice motel, right in town. Stopped for one night on a road trip. Would stay here again, and would like to spend more time exploring Flagstaff. The owners were very nice, the price was very good, and the room comfortable. They have free Wi-Fi, and are pet friendly without an extra fee. Looks like new owners that are fixing the place up. Hope they make a go of it. The price also included breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumperk, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were group of Czech fafters, who went for Crand Canyon wildwater adventure. We spent couple nights at Canyon Inn before as well as after our trip. We had to organize a lot of things and James was always helpful. We even had a barbecue with his full support. Rooms were nice and clean, wi-fi was working well. We really enjoyed the visit there. Thanks a lot!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

-Nice big and clean rooms
-Comfortable beds
-Good value
-James and his crew are GREAT hosts. 5 stars for that.

Great effort by the owners. The rooms are clean and the beds really comfortable. Included is a small breakfast which will kickstart your day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent one evening here, staff were amicable, polite and helpful, directing us to attractions of interest to us. Beds were comfortable and everything was clean and in good order. Free WiFi was slow but reliable. When the drier in the guest laundry failed to heat up staff took our clothes to the maid's laundry for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

After a tiring search on the hotel strip we pulled into the Canyon. The owners have only taken over for two and they get AAAAAA++++ for effort. They are one of the few motels with a usable computer in the lobby! The price was great...the mom and pop front desk host were helpful and gracious! Oh and what's that.... Home made waffles and biscuits in the morning! They had a fresh coat of paint on the exterior and a are quickly making efforts to improve. Don't be a stuck up and head over to the HOJO that was in way worse disrepair, charged us the premium while we had to walk around construction, the motel sixes that are beyond used....support a local and help them revive a great place with nice people!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

It's 5:30am as I'm writing this review. My girlfriend and I have been up for an hour reading reviews of this hotel after a man opened the door to our room and woke us up to our screaming at him an hour ago. Girlfriend is taking shower and preparing to leave as I write this. Scariest thing either of us in our 50's have ever had happen.

Upon reading reviews about dirty sheets/etc we checked ours in the bed we weren't using and it's true, they were dirty. OMG. The room is pretty bad but for a cheap hotel we thought it was on par, until we really started looking at things after reading reviews. The shower was dirty and floor was disgusting. There's more but that should be enough to steer anyone away from this place. Worst motel experience EVER!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canyoninnflagstaffaz, Webmaster at Canyon Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Canyon Inn Flagstaff during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously- for improvement.

At the outset, our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever.

The hotel cleaning and maintenance staff have been given additional training to ensure maximum cleanliness and hygiene of the rooms ,bed and have arranged to check each room perfectly before checking in a new guest.

We have taken all steps necessary to avoid such unpleasant incidence and shall see that it is never happen in future.

We assure you and request you to consider staying with us in future and have a new satisfactory experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Inn

Address: 501 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Canyon Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Inn Hotel is located across from the Northern Arizona University campus - within easy walking distance. Canyon Inn Hotel Flagstaff offers 24-hour services and a friendly staff. Canyon Inn Flagstaff Across Convention center NAU/downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Hotel Flagstaff
Canyon Motel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.