We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Camping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Tuthill County Campground

Fort Tuthill County Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Tuthill County Campground
Save Saved
You added Fort Tuthill County Campground to your Saves list
I-17 Exit 337, Just west of exit, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value Camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had read some terrible reviews but our experience was very good. Nice wooded setting on the edge of Flagstaff. Very clean laundry facilities and restrooms. Because of hillside location, some sites were not very level and no sewer hook-ups were available. Some good recreational opportunities in the park and world class recreation in the surrounding area. This park was a GREAT value and we would definitely stay there again. One suggestion if the opportunity is available is to drive or walk thru the park to pick your site to get the one that best meets your needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our 2 story cabin was great because it wasn't a hotel room BUT the bed was hard, the pillows and comforter old and the bathroom had mold on the walks and the linoleum was coming up, making it dangerous. The plus side was that my husband and I walked out the door and had an hour hike/walk in the woods without seeing a soul. The leaves were changing and it was beautiful. No driving, no cars and no traffic. We would stay again for the location but next time bring pillows and a mattress topper.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We reserved the pet-friendly cabin to take my kids "camping" for the weekend. When we checked in, we learned that there was a hip-hop concert scheduled to run late into the evening over the next two nights literally 500' from our cabin. Additionally, our cabin had an almost overpowering stench of urine... all of which caused us to immediately find another place that didn't include a constant barrage of F-bombs via loudspeaker. To management's credit, they were understanding and allowed us to cancel our reservation at no charge. I hesitate to trash Ft Tuthill based on one 30-minute experience as the location was convenient to many activities and fairly scenic, but I have never before felt the need to immediately check my family out of a place right after we arrived like I did here.

Room Tip: Check out the Pepsi Amphitheater at Ft Tuthill Park schedule before making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

- We have stayed at Fort Tuthill many, many times and love it here but this the first time we rented a cabin. The property is old and out of date but has always been clean and the people (staff and other guests) are very friendly. The staff and other guests are still friendly but the cabin we rented was a DUMP. Not worth $95 a night.
- Checking in on a Sunday we had to wait for a cabin to become available from housekeeping which was fine, we went into Flag for dinner and came back. Cabin was NOT clean, there were crumbs on the kitchen floor and worst of all, a used bar of soap in the shower stall - with hair on it! GROSS! Told the girl at the front desk and asked for another cabin but none available- not her fault, she is just the night clerk.
- The pictures on their website must be from 10 years ago, everything needs a coat of paint. Patio railing broken and a hazard, lawsuit waiting to happen. Out of 4 kitchen chairs, only 2 were usable. Kitchen table slanted & broken. Stains on the couch and bedspread.
- ALSO, As part of check out procedure you are required to take out your trash AND wash all dishes so for almost $100 per night it's not a good value.
- Once we rented a multi-family a-Frame when we had several children along and usually we rent a room in the hotel section. If this is any indication of how run down they are letting the property get, there are plenty of other places to stay in Flagstaff where you can get your money's worth and not have a dirty shower with hairy soap in the soap dish.

Room Tip: A-frames and hotel "rooms" are inhabitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have lived in So Cal for 8 years now. We have moved across country twice. Every time we go East, we make sure that Fort Tuthill is our first stop. Over the years, we have stayed in the hotel, the A-frames, the cabins, and the yurts. It is such a great branching off point for day trips into Sedona or the Grand Canyon. As well as, Flagstaff has a great deal to offer itself. We make sure to take 1 or 2 days to just stay on the grounds and walk or bike the trails there. So relaxing. So beautiful. Upkept well. Staff are friendly. Prices are relatively good (although they have gone up in recent years). The only one I think is really overpriced is the cabin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the hotel while visiting the Grand Canyon and Sedona. It's essentially half price of other hotels ($65/night) but the rooms are small, 2 vety small beds and a small bathroom. It was clean but everything is older. There's no air condition although the had a portable cooler in the room that helped a lot. The first night, there was a loud concert (right on the premises- theres an amphitheater) til about 11 so we couldn't open the windows and it was hotter inside the room. It's a great location, less than 10 minutes from flagstaff. Staff is great. They have bikes to use as well as cabins, and RV/camping sites. It was fine but we are traveling with our 4 small children and it was pretty tight- we are spoiled :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our family stayed in three of the hotel rooms during a family trip to the Grand Canyon. Paul was very helpful answering all my questions and making/adjusting our reservations. My parents, my sister and her two children, and my husband and I with our two children found the accommodations very comfortable and very clean. The younger children of our group enjoyed the playground and our teenager liked the sports equipment, gameroom and speedy wi-fi. Rita and Brian gave great suggestions for/directions to Flagstaff and the Canyon. Our daughter and niece enjoyed nighttime walks through the campground. Staying at Fort Tuthill, being five minutes from Flagstaff and less than an hour and a half from the Grand Canyon, was a great part of our family vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side (odd numbered rooms) have a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Tuthill County Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Tuthill County Campground

Address: I-17 Exit 337, Just west of exit, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Tuthill County Campground is located in a cool pine forest just 3 miles south of Flagstaff. Typical summer temperatures of 70-90 degrees make this an ideal campground when other parts of the regional are hot. Close to Sedona, Grand Canyon National Park and other amazing attrations allows you to use us as a hub for days of fun. We offer tent camping as well as RV sites and have hiking and biking trails, a challenge course, and a music ampitheater on site. Every site offers a picnic table and fire ring. Online reservations available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Tuthill Coconino County Park Campgrounds Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Tuthill County Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.