We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Cheap, Great Place For Budget Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel to your Saves list
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
19 West Phoenix Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Cheap, Great Place For Budget Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here in the end of March, beginning of April. Nice common room with some games, two kitchens available. There's a natural food market within walking distance to buy groceries or supplies to cook. Reception hours posted on website are not necessarily accurate, but maybe this is an off-season thing. We were also told that breakfast during the week was not at the DuBeau common area, but at the Grand Canyon Hostel (their sister location), which is a block or so away. That's apparently an off-season thing as well, but we didn't know that until we got there. Hot water takes about 10 minutes to kick in in the showers, but is nice and hot once it starts. Website says free coffee available all day, but we were told we had to make it if we wanted it. Not a big deal, but not what we expected. Great staff, good location near train station. They give you a ride to Greyhound station, which is not really walking distance. DuBeau is very near a rock/metal bar, so there were loud bands playing across the street on the weekend, but nice and quiet during the week. Ended up wishing we had stayed in the Grand Canyon hostel instead, but still a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
14
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, Waikato, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived in Flagstaff in a snow storm and were very happy when we got to our room. We had a private room with bathroom, felt more like a hotel than hostel. Warm comfortable bed and good shower. Receptionist gave good information for dinner close by. No breakfast was included.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Private room. Very clean and comfortable. Price included breakfast, Wi Fi.
You can also cook other meals in a shared kitchen. Eat in the dining room, outside in the courtyard or in your room. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. The great staff will even pick you up from the Greyhound depot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip up Flagstaff to see a little fall and head up to the Grand Canyon. We chose the DuBeau Hostel because it was the most affordable option in the area we wanted. We got a private room, which unlike their sister hostel, had its own bathroom. The hostel had all kinds of character, two kitchens, free wi-fi and provided breakfast and coffee in the morning. The staff were also super friendly.

The room itself was small. We got the economy private room, and not the deluxe, so we expected this. We could've used a little more room around the bed, but it worked. We also had a desk and a mini fridge (which was great!). I will note that the heater worked great, and a/c wasn't an issue in the fall. I do wish they could have turned on the heat before we got there, as the room was very chilly when we first got there.

We loved being close to the bars, breweries and coffee shops. This also comes with being close to the train, though, and that was very noisy. But this is by no means the hostel's fault, and you're going to get that at any downtown Flagstaff hotel. If this is something that will bother you, try not to stay anywhere central.

The hostel served as a nice little home base for our trip. Now, if this place was called a hotel, or even a motel, I'd rate it quite a bit lower. But, this is a hostel, and I think for what we paid I really enjoyed it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petone, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really enjoyed the ambience at the DuBeau. Friendly staff and owners, great lounge to hang out in and chat, adequate kitchen and breakfast, good internet access.
It is near the rail line but I never really noticed the trains and the location is otherwise perfect for exploring downtown Flagstaff.
Rooms are basic but adequate and clean. There's off street parking and you can chat to fellow travellers over the dining table. So much better than motel living.
It's more laid back than big city hostels, so the desk isn't always manned, security is pretty loose, and food storage is a bit chaotic, but that's what you'd expect in a small town and it was never a problem. Can't imagine what the reviewer that dissed it so badly was expecting. You just can't please some people.
I wouldn't think of going anywhere else in Flagstaff.

Room Tip: The private room with two doubles is a good option if you don't like sharing a dorm. Book it ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Loved my stay here, really good crowd there and the noise of trains was really pleasant. Although you might need earplugs if you are a light sleep as not only do you have to contend with the choo choos, but there is an interesting heater that fires up in one of the private rooms that scared the bejesus out of me at 3 in the morning. Lovely place though.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as right by the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped by du Beau Hostel for one night during a roadtrip. Impossible to sleep, too noisy, no curtain, small bed, not comfortable at all, and tiny dirty bathroom. Never go there. The price is way too high for the quality! We paid 75$, and another couple paid 25$ for the same room!
Breakfast, by the way, was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We are happy to hear that our free breakfast was good, but of course are concerned when a guest is dissatisfied with their overall experience. We would like to clarify that we do not have any double occupancy private rooms that cost $75 per night. The highest rate we currently have is $68 on a weekend night in the high season (March – October), which includes tax, breakfast, parking and WI FI. We also charge a $5.00 key deposit which is refunded when the key is returned to us. We never negotiate our rates since they are published in travel guides and on our website. Dormitory style rooms, which cost $24 per bed in the high season, might be the cause for this person’s confusion about our rates, but we are absolutely certain that no 2 guests were charged different rates for the same type of accommodation.

The DuBeau Hostel is located downtown and one block from the Amtrak station. A number of years ago the city passed a law to stop the train horns from blowing, though occasionally they may sound for emergencies. The downtown area can sometimes be noisy due to the surrounding nightlife and pedestrian friendly walkways, so this is something guests should take into consideration when choosing lodging in Flagstaff. Though smaller than most modern hotel rooms each private room has a bathroom, and is simply furnished with a double bed, desk (and curtains). We are proud of the quality of our product expressed by the overwhelming majority of folks who comment on Trip Advisor and regret that the writer of this comment did not relay their concerns to a staff member, as we will always do our best to ensure our guests leave satisfied. We look forward to continuing to host the many travelers who are visiting Northern Arizona and the Grand Canyon and welcome feedback so we may continue to improve our facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Address: 19 West Phoenix Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Motel DuBeau is an original Route 66 landmark, centrally located in downtown Flagstaff. Its colorful history and distinctive character make it a popular respite for travelers from around the world who congregate here to share stories, meals and more. The DuBeau is the perfect choice for folks who are looking for affordable accommodations, old world charm and the convenience of walking from your door to the many eateries, breweries, and art galleries nearby! Accommodation options at the DuBeau include quaint en-suite private rooms & cheerful shared dormitories. Breakfast, Wi-Fi & off-street parking are complimentary and our rates include all taxes, so it's easy to understand the total price you will pay -no surprises here! For added convenience, we also have a fully equipped kitchen & laundry facilities available for guest use. And don't forget...The magnificent Grand Canyon is only a 1.5 Hour drive from Flagstaff. We offer awesome hiking tours at an unbeatable price! If you're in the mood for a stylish & friendly place to rest up for you next travel adventure- Motel DuBeau is it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubeau International Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.