We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place in Downtown Flagstaff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel to your Saves list
Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel
19 West Phoenix Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Petone, New Zealand
1 review
“Friendly place in Downtown Flagstaff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really enjoyed the ambience at the DuBeau. Friendly staff and owners, great lounge to hang out in and chat, adequate kitchen and breakfast, good internet access.
It is near the rail line but I never really noticed the trains and the location is otherwise perfect for exploring downtown Flagstaff.
Rooms are basic but adequate and clean. There's off street parking and you can chat to fellow travellers over the dining table. So much better than motel living.
It's more laid back than big city hostels, so the desk isn't always manned, security is pretty loose, and food storage is a bit chaotic, but that's what you'd expect in a small town and it was never a problem. Can't imagine what the reviewer that dissed it so badly was expecting. You just can't please some people.
I wouldn't think of going anywhere else in Flagstaff.

Room Tip: The private room with two doubles is a good option if you don't like sharing a dorm. Book it ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
13
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Loved my stay here, really good crowd there and the noise of trains was really pleasant. Although you might need earplugs if you are a light sleep as not only do you have to contend with the choo choos, but there is an interesting heater that fires up in one of the private rooms that scared the bejesus out of me at 3 in the morning. Lovely place though.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs as right by the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped by du Beau Hostel for one night during a roadtrip. Impossible to sleep, too noisy, no curtain, small bed, not comfortable at all, and tiny dirty bathroom. Never go there. The price is way too high for the quality! We paid 75$, and another couple paid 25$ for the same room!
Breakfast, by the way, was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We are happy to hear that our free breakfast was good, but of course are concerned when a guest is dissatisfied with their overall experience. We would like to clarify that we do not have any double occupancy private rooms that cost $75 per night. The highest rate we currently have is $68 on a weekend night in the high season (March – October), which includes tax, breakfast, parking and WI FI. We also charge a $5.00 key deposit which is refunded when the key is returned to us. We never negotiate our rates since they are published in travel guides and on our website. Dormitory style rooms, which cost $24 per bed in the high season, might be the cause for this person’s confusion about our rates, but we are absolutely certain that no 2 guests were charged different rates for the same type of accommodation.

The DuBeau Hostel is located downtown and one block from the Amtrak station. A number of years ago the city passed a law to stop the train horns from blowing, though occasionally they may sound for emergencies. The downtown area can sometimes be noisy due to the surrounding nightlife and pedestrian friendly walkways, so this is something guests should take into consideration when choosing lodging in Flagstaff. Though smaller than most modern hotel rooms each private room has a bathroom, and is simply furnished with a double bed, desk (and curtains). We are proud of the quality of our product expressed by the overwhelming majority of folks who comment on Trip Advisor and regret that the writer of this comment did not relay their concerns to a staff member, as we will always do our best to ensure our guests leave satisfied. We look forward to continuing to host the many travelers who are visiting Northern Arizona and the Grand Canyon and welcome feedback so we may continue to improve our facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's been 16 years since we last stayed in a hostel, when we backpacked around the world, and I have to say that the DuBeau is certainly the best that we've stayed in in the USA.
We chose a double room with bathroom (Deluxe Private) - it was basic but provided all that we needed, including a fridge and a fan.
The communal areas and cooking facilities were very good, kept clean and tidy, the staff were very friendly and helpful and it was nice to be able to sit and chat to fellow travellers of all ages from all over the world. There is use of washing machines and dryers but you might have to wait until the bedding has been washed first. If you don't want to wait there is a launderomat just round the corner in Beaver St, next door to Macy's (excellent coffee!). There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby - our favourite was 'Brews & Cues' just opposite the hostel at 1B Beaver Street - part of the Beaver Street Brewery but more of a pub, with longer opening hours too. Their hefeweizen really hits the spot on a hot day! The hostel is just over the road from the Amtrak station which is a bonus if you're travelling by train.
They provide a free basic breakfast (plenty of fruit and toast) and free coffee & tea all day too.
However, our main reason for staying there were the two tours which they do in conjunction with the Grand Canyon International Hostel - to the Grand Canyon and Sedona.
We've been to the Grand Canyon before, on a day trip from Las Vegas, but this was in a totally different class. Louis was our guide and he made it memorable. A hike below the rim down to Ooh Ahh Point, a trip to the desert view lookout - the whole day was just fantastic.
The trip to Sedona was a bit easier but again with fantastic scenery. The route through Oak Creek Canyon was just stunning.

If you're staying in Flagstaff - go on these tours!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and the staff were very friendly. The beds weren't too comfortable and the rooms were rather tiny, but for a hostel you couldn't complain - apart from finding a pair of old pants under our bed! There was always adequate free parking however the WIFI never worked for us. It was handy having a free breakfast and the kitchen facilities seemed adequate. The town of Flagstaff is lovely and well worth exploring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a former motel turned into a stripped down International Hostel. Don't let that steer you away. My family of four (2 little boys aged 8 & 9) stayed here on our back from San Diego and it blew away the fantastically mediocre Ramada that we stayed in on the way out—at half the price ($90). The hostel is in the wonderful Railyard District, which is great fun on its own and an easy walk across one major street from bustling downtown Flagstaff. These days it feels increasingly difficult to come away from lodging feeling like you got a good value, so DuBeau is a welcome reprieve. The staff is exceptionally sunny and helpful and the rooms are clean enough. I'm not going to tell you to expect high thread counts or brand new beds, but absolutely serviceable. There are good restaurants a stone throw from the hostel, including the well-known Macy's for breakfast and a great cup of coffee. We were disappointed with the food at Beaver Street brewery, but the beer was delicious.

I highly recommend this for families willing to compromise a bit by way of amenities for a great location and very nice staff. And it's a no-brainer for young traveling single folks.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from train tracks if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My stay here was on a trip with 2 other girlfriends. The hostel is in a great location close to breweries, tasty restaurants and a great yoga studio. The staff was friendly and the dorms were clean. Our roommates were friendly and considerate. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel

Address: 19 West Phoenix Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly DuBeau International Hostel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Motel DuBeau is an original Route 66 landmark, centrally located in downtown Flagstaff. Its colorful history and distinctive character make it a popular respite for travelers from around the world who congregate here to share stories, meals and more. The DuBeau is the perfect choice for folks who are looking for affordable accommodations, old world charm and the convenience of walking from your door to the many eateries, breweries, and art galleries nearby! Accommodation options at the DuBeau include quaint en-suite private rooms & cheerful shared dormitories. Breakfast, Wi-Fi & off-street parking are complimentary and our rates include all taxes, so it's easy to understand the total price you will pay -no surprises here! For added convenience, we also have a fully equipped kitchen & laundry facilities available for guest use. And don't forget...the magnificent Grand Canyon is only a 1.5 hour drive from Flagstaff. We offer awesome hiking tours to the Grand Canyon. If you're in the mood for a stylish & friendly place to rest up for you next travel adventure- Motel DuBeau is it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubeau International Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel DuBeau Travelers Inn & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.