We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe History!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Downtown and Railroad District

Historic Downtown and Railroad District
1 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Attractions in Flagstaff
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Southeastern U.S.
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Breathe History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We fell in love with "Flag" from the first moments of arrival. Although my brother and his family recently moved there, we wanted our first experience to be unguided. We parked and walked the beautiful historic district. The visitor center/old rail station is a great way to start and get info on area activities. Great art, beautiful craft shops, steeped in history, and great brew-pubs and restaurants. Don’t be surprised to learn that unless prohibited by signs, carrying firearms into an establishment is allowed. The real west is alive here! The town is very walk-able and you can have your photo taken at the “Route 66” sign!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    108
    36
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Free tourism info”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very helpful staff will give you free literature for the community and help you plan your visit well. Beautifully refurbished building.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss Flagstaff's Historic district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lots of cafe's, art galleries, and botiques worth the trip. Especially interesting was the Railroad station. Amtrak stops there and the gift shop is a great place to buy gifts to take home to grandkids and friends.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Typical Old toen Plaza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hard to find certain shops. The streets were one way and one of the main streets was closed where you needed to go thru which made it difficult for new comers to find their way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love this part of town and wish we could have spent more time here, but it was FREEZING! We ate at a cool little Hawaiian BBQ place which was good. Lot's of cool little shops and restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Downtown and Railroad District also viewed

 

Been to Historic Downtown and Railroad District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Downtown and Railroad District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.