We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe History!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Downtown and Railroad District

Historic Downtown and Railroad District
1 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 80 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southeastern U.S.
Level Contributor
225 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Breathe History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We fell in love with "Flag" from the first moments of arrival. Although my brother and his family recently moved there, we wanted our first experience to be unguided. We parked and walked the beautiful historic district. The visitor center/old rail station is a great way to start and get info on area activities. Great art, beautiful craft shops, steeped in history, and great brew-pubs and restaurants. Don’t be surprised to learn that unless prohibited by signs, carrying firearms into an establishment is allowed. The real west is alive here! The town is very walk-able and you can have your photo taken at the “Route 66” sign!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    130
    39
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
340 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Free tourism info”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very helpful staff will give you free literature for the community and help you plan your visit well. Beautifully refurbished building.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss Flagstaff's Historic district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lots of cafe's, art galleries, and botiques worth the trip. Especially interesting was the Railroad station. Amtrak stops there and the gift shop is a great place to buy gifts to take home to grandkids and friends.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical Old toen Plaza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hard to find certain shops. The streets were one way and one of the main streets was closed where you needed to go thru which made it difficult for new comers to find their way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love this part of town and wish we could have spent more time here, but it was FREEZING! We ate at a cool little Hawaiian BBQ place which was good. Lot's of cool little shops and restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Downtown and Railroad District also viewed

 

Been to Historic Downtown and Railroad District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Downtown and Railroad District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.