We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1990 E. Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
St Gallen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

This hotel was one of my stays in the Grand Canyon Area and I really was surprised what a good value a got for my 23 Euro I had to pay. Sure, it's not a first class hotel, but what do you expect for 23 Euro. It^s a simple hotel, but clean, has everything you need for a night stay and is in a safe area.
The rooms were clean, simple and well arranged. The bathroom not large, but with everything you need and clean also. A refrigerator was in the room too, a large bed, writing table, sofa... and a working heater.. absolutely necessary at this time of year. Ok, the typical american fan type which is a little bit noisy, but this one was not that loud. So no problem to keep it working the whole night.
You have free wireless high speed internet access the whole day and in the morning you get a breakfast. Sure, not a big buffet, but toasted bread, marmelade, coffee, milk, tee, cereals... the usually simple breakfast.
Downtown is two minutes away by car. Shopping centers and restaurants nearby.

So in my point of view a good choice for a few cheap days in a in the Gran Canyon area.
And last not least: I don't understand the bad comments some other members gave, but ok, its always a personal opinion which could be different by one and the other.... as expectations are not the same by each one too....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    21
    11
    14
See reviews for
10
37
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
212 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Now, I understand I'm not paying for the Ritz, but my stoner college friends had cleaner apartments than this.

We got into Flagstaff pretty late at night on our way to the Grand Canyon, and we decided to take our chances here. The room rate for one queen bed way originally $50, but we asked if we could have it for $35 and they agreed (since it's the off season and no one has full motels).

THE GOOD:
We get into the room, and the bed is there. With a bathroom. And a mini fridge, small tv, and ancient looking microwave. No alarm clock but that's alright. That's the good part. Oh, and the heater turns on.

THE BAD:
The heater works, but it's one of those tiny wall units and is dirty, dusty, and has broken vents on the front. There was a large random screw sticking out of the wall, peeling paint, and water stains down the walls. The carpet was stained and had holes in it (as did the comforter), and I've honestly seen better in college housing. The bathroom had a cabinet that was missing the doors, and the particle board in the sink stand was rotting. The shower curtain also had large stains.

AND THE OTHER RELEVANT INFORMATION:
The towels were scratchy (like bathmats), and the pillows were lumpy and flat. The sheets were clean. The bed was also lumpy. There was a creepy locked door with a desk pushed up against it in the corner. Bad lighting in the rooms, but a well lit parking lot.

SUMMARY:
Well, the place didn't have bedbugs. But it was overly dusty and dirty, even for $35 a night. A house full of college guys who do nothing but party and get high every day can keep a room cleaner than this. I'm pretty sure you can find another cheap motel that's cleaner. In fact, try the Motel 6 at $44 bucks a night. We did. It was clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chelmsford, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

A nice family run place to stay. We stayed 5 nights and got a great deal using Travelocitiy incentives. Centrally located to many attractions such as the Grand Canyon, Painted Desert, Sedona, and more. Room was nice and clean and had a microwave and fridge that came in handy. Thank you, folks. We really enjoyed our visit to the area. The Burketts, MA

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is my second review, 2 years apart.

Again, through hotwire, it was a great deal at 54 bucks. I didn't know I'd get the same hotel, but there it was.

On a last minute overnight trip to Flagstaff, after I found out National Parks were free, (again in July and August), I booked the hotwire deal. Single dad w/11 year old boy.

This was really a great experience.

First off all, if you're not getting the hotwire deal, (don't pay more than 70 for this hotel) then ask for room 103 or 104. They are tucked way in there, and have back windows that look to a red rock wall. (with dirty windows and security bars), but still better than the parking lot, which non-corridor rooms have.

The property is in a great location on Rte66, is family run, and gives you everything you need. Quality fridge, microwave, TV. Awesome bedding (cheap but new mattress). Very nice bathrooms, actually. Next door to one of the best Chinese buffets in the state. (Its a great walk past the red rock wall) Air conditioning is older units, but both of mine were soothing hums, great for the train I guess, because I never heard one inside.

The breakfast is now perfectly safe. Basically, its free wrapped danishes and mini muffins with orange juice and really good coffee. You can make toast with a loaf of low grade wheat bread, but thats it. As many bearclaws, muffins and toast as you want. No need to get there early, they have plenty. 6-9am.

My kid loved the room. It really had zero issues. Very clean, great TV, great eating options, great location, nice bathroom. I actually went looking for things wrong. The window wasn't clean, which was a shame, because the redrock wall outlooking was way cool. Everything else was perfect. Room 104..

The outside looks... junky. It needs a paint job, and some exterior maintenance is pretty lame, but the rooms are well maintained. There is no grounds. Upstairs in the 201-208 area, there's a junky table on a junky balcony, but is very private. Other than that, its a parking lot and an ugly building. ..... But its Rt 66, and the rooms are MUCH better than the property..

And the hotline price is awesome if you're doing a last minute weekend trip. Very good "slumming Rt 66" property. They are WAY under priced for the last minute Hotwire search. Try 24-48 hours before your need.

Overall, a great experience for 50 bucks. The room is solid, mine was . The property is... on Rt 66.

Hotel Tip: Take-out buffett from the horrid looking china buffet past the red rock cliff is such a deal. For 8 bucks they let you fill up aa huge box of take out, quality items, with drinks. We enjoyed all night of great TV and tons of refrigerated leftovers. (Which we forgot to take with us. hehe)

LINKS: This trip includes reviews on Wukapti Monument, Montezuma's Well, M's Castle, Sunrise Crater, and Red Rock State Park.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

It's not much to look at from the outside, but once we got into the room it was very comfortable and very clean. Everything worked fine and there was even a refrigerator in the room that I didn't expect. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful when we needed them.

There are train tracks very close to the hotel, however, so if you are a light sleeper you might want to stay elsewhere, but this wasn't a problem for either of us. And frankly, the bed and pillows were so comfortable we both slept really well here. The water pressure in the bathrom was very good, and again - everything was very clean.

  • Liked — Convenience, comfort, & cleanliness.
  • Disliked — I didn't have any problems with it.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

I booked (through hotels.com) a 3 night stay (9/11/08 - 9-14-08) at the America's Best Value Inn located in Flagstaff, AZ (1990 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ). We arrived to find a 'dump'/ MUSTY odor in room / mold above shower (NO vent fan in bathroom)/ rotted wood under sink/ filthy carpet, etc.!!! Owner would NOT refund any pre-paid fees ($208.16 on VISA) / was RUDE to 'hotels.com' agent on phone/I have filed a 'disputed charge' with VISA / owner would not come out of back room - sent his female clerk out/ her attitude was 'rude' also - they HAD 'our money' and weren't giving it back!!! We CHECKED OUT at 7 a.m. on 9/12 > it was so awful! BLATANT FALSE ADVERTISING with 'all new clean rooms' - well, not in 'the real world'!!! AARP will also be notified of our horrendous stay.....the WORST EVER! I am requesting a refund of ALL charges to our VISA ($208.16) - I called our CORPORATE OFFICE this morning and was told to submit this complaint email which we did. We have yet to receive a refund.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI_Flagstaff_East, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Im so sorry about your experience but you will be pleased to know we are under new ownership and have much better housekeepers. I hope you give the new Americas Best Inn and Suites a new chance.
Jillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udayverma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We were on a tight budget and after seeing the reviews we kind of confused what to do? But we went ahead .We had decent experience.the roomhad fridge,microwave and tv .Some of the things which can be of some concern to people is ,we did hear sound of train at night couple of times.But i guess if u are asleep it shouldnt affect ya.they were not that loud enough to wake ya.The railway tracks arejust on the other side of road.if you can get disturbed by slight sound then it can be a problem.butoverall it was nice.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff

Address: 1990 E. Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.