We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pluses & minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66 to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1990 E. Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pluses & minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Decent Value, firm comfortable beds, clean & Emily is very helpful. It's obviously an older location, but fairly well maintained.
Thin walls so we could hear the people in the room next to us.
We were there for only 1 nite and would probably stay there again for an overnite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for recognizing the value and quality of our property -- and for pointing out the helpfulness of one of our most valued staff members. If our property fell short of your expectations in any way, I personally apologize to you. We strive for a good combination of convenience, value and service, and I believe that’s what we provide.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    20
    7
    11
See reviews for
7
28
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Starting with the many positives....microwave, mini-fridge, good parking. nice vanity, good number of TV stations, good bed, plenty of lighting, good price, nice breakfast, good location (more on this in a second), and a tub in the bathroom. The two negatives include a location issue. Flagstaff must be the railroad capital of the world...forget Chicago, etc. There seems to be a train about every 2 hours, and although they quit blowing their whistles all the time coming through, trains do make a lot of noise and almost every hotel/motel is within sound distance of the rumbling on the tracks. I suggest white noise of the air conditioner to drown out the train passages. ABVI can NOT do anything about that. The crazy thing is that the TV was set to channel 4 instead of channel 3 every time you turned the set on (the cable they were getting expected channel 3). Thus, you turn on the set with the power button and nothing but static. Someone from the office fixed it and I of course fixed it every power on after that. I suggested to the office that they either fix this situation or at the very least, put a sign on the TV..."after you power the set on, please hit the down channel button on the TV set". Obviously the remote is not the place to do that since that works with the cable tuner, NOT the TV set channel selector.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have stayed in ABV in various othe locations but this property desperately needs to be updated and staff need customer service training. Check in was fine. Room was okay but very dated and certainly needed refurbishment. We were booked in for three nights and glad we didn't have to spend much time in the room other than for sleeping and showering. We asked three times for an iron and ironing board and in the end were told we would have to collect it from the lobby. Web site advertises iron and ironing board! Surely this is not customer service. On the last day the lady on the desk said that she didn't hear our request. That was probably because she had a phone stuck in her ear and it was more important to listen to her phone rather than the people who were paying good money to stay in the motel. Avoid this motel and pay a bit extra for better service.

Room Tip: Try a different motel who will give better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI_Flagstaff_East, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued customer,
I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding with the ironing board and there is no reason it couldn't of been brought up to your room. We are working on modernizing our rooms for the new season and hope you come to see them.
Jillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, Usa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Not sure how this place gets 4 or 5 out of 5 stars. Must not have gotten our room, that's for sure. I know it's a cheaper motel, but come on. I have resisted America's Best Value Inn in the past because I was pretty sure what they were like. I decided to stay here because everything else in Flagstaff was so expensive. Turns out I was right about them. Should have paid more and slept somewhere else. Train is close and very loud. Room was not dirty I guess, but sure felt that way.
towels were absolutely the thinnest I have encountered at any motel and I've been to a lot of them. Toilet paper is see through variety. NO SMOKE ALARM in the room. It has been taken out and never replaced. Naked guy sitting in his car at the foot of the stairs next morning. We did not feel safe and barely slept. We did not get the room with the flat screen TV. It must have been in one of the downstairs rooms. Motel is pet friendly and that's about all the friendly they are. Will never stay here again or at any of the other America's Best Value Inns. Learned my lesson.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback about your stay with us. I apologize that your room did not completely meet your needs. We have significantly improved many aspects of the property since your stay, and I hope you’ll stop in and see how we’ve changed for the better. We offer a great combination of value and service now. I’m sorry we couldn’t have done a better job for you during your stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tver, Russia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is really better from inside than it looks like on "professional" photos posted here. However, nothing special. This is a regular US motel, likely not the best on in Flafstuff, but definitely not the worst one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting about our property. I’m glad to hear that you found our property even nicer than our photos convey. Maybe it’s time to get some new photos done since we are working every day to improve the quality of this hotel. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to comment on this property, and I hope we can serve you again if you ever visit this part of the United States again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A great motel in Flagstaff. Right on Route 66 close to all the main highways, the America's Best Value Inn was the perfect place for our travel weary family of six. Each lovely comfortable room has a small fridge and two double beds. We felt safe. The staff were friendly and hard working.

Go to the Black Bart's Steakhouse nearby and be entertained, as never before, by the talented singing servers. Located in a strange trailer park neighborhood, but inside you will have an amazing meal with entertainment. Plan to visit the famous Flagstaff observatory to see the Lowell telescope, the moon, Jupiter and Saturn. Go to the Meteor Crater, 30 mins east of Flagstaff for a wonderful education in meteors.

Best of all, visit the Grand Canyon. Southern view, catch the many shuttles and see all of the highlights in comfort. If you are traveling from Las Vegas, you can drive around the Hoover Dam a bit, on the way to Flagstaff.

We also stayed at the America's Best Value Inn in Las Vegas, before and after the Flagstaff trip. It is located across from the MGM, beside Hooters, very close to the airport and within walking distance to the strip and the monorail. You couldn't ask for a better, low price place to stay in Vegas. It had the hottest hot tub ever!

Room Tip: It was easier having a ground floor room, close to the location on the rental van. It would also be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Large comfortable room with 2 large beds and Flat screen TV. En-Suite bath/shower with W.C. was all very clean. We didn't have breakfast as we wanted to eat at the Galaxy Diner (well worth a visit) before heading off to the Californian Mountains. We would not hesitate in staying here again. Excellent value if you had to pay double the money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66

Address: 1990 E. Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.