We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's cheap & OK!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66 to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1990 E. Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Cobham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“It's cheap & OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I believe you do get what you pay for and this place is no different.

We'd booked 2 nights but wished we'd only booked the one when we arrived. They wouldn't change the booking which was to be expected given the cancellation policy was something like 3 days in advance.

The first room we stayed in was a big but very dark room (in fact it was the one that is shown as the main photo here with the sofa) but it looked a lot more dilapidated than in the picture.

There was a very loud rumbling noise throughout the night which kept waking us up. I put it down to trains on the track across the road. In the morning I noticed that no trains were in sight when the noise was kicking off so went to reception. It was a known fault - something to do with the plumbing - so we were moved to another room.

The second room was smaller but brighter. It had a micro and fridge but no coffee machine (which we asked for as the other room had one but it never materialised). It wasn't particularly well maintained but clean enough and the bed sheets / towels were clean. We at least slept better in this room without the rumbling throughout the night.

Breakfast was OK - cereal, toast & juice.

The location was OK. The train line didn't bother us in the night and even though it's on a busy road, it wasn't too noisy. Flagstaff was a short drive away. We would have walked had it not been an unseasonably cold day. There's a Walmart nearby and a KFC virtually next door plus plenty of places to eat on the way into and in town - Flagstaff is not short of restaurants!

One night would have been fine here - in the second room anyway. I didn't find it a particularly friendly place and it's a little run down but what can you expect for the price?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for offering extensive comments about this hotel. We sincerely appreciate them. We strive to offer the best possible combination of value, convenience and customer service. It sounds like we fell short in some ways during your stay, and I sincerely apologize for that. We’re getting better every day, and I hope you’ll try us again. We try for 100 percent satisfaction of every guest, every day.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
7
27
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great if you're travelling on a budget & just want somewhere to bed down. Room was clean, bed was comfy & everything worked. Staff were helpfull.
$30 for bed & breakfast, you really can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This property is about 30 minutes walk from Flagstaff town centre. Price was quite good and rooms were big. Housekeeping was a joke - in about a week my room was made twice! towels were replaced daily thats about it. The bedding had holes and rips all over and was very run down. Bed felt like it needed a new mattress, unless you love to have different springs sticking out the bed! The door had lost its lock and had a split through- looked like the door had been kicked in at some time in the past. Its ok if your out allday and have a car and stay 2 or 3 nights. If you stay for a week stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting about the maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced during your extended stay with us -- and thanks for spending a week at our property. Since your stay, we’ve made significant upgrades to bedding, room security and other features that we believe improve the value of our hotel. I apologize that those things were not done before your stay. If you visit the area again, please come see how we’ve improved.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here in early April 2012. The room was clean, bed was firm, room had mini-fridge, microwave, TV. It was quiet and there were no bed bugs. We had a good night's sleep and a nice warm shower in the morning. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

You can't expect a 5-star hotel for $30 a night. This place was a great price, was clean and smelled good. It is pretty old so the water pressure wasn't great but otherwise the room was perfect. Everything worked, including the outlets. The parking area is well lit so I felt safe leaving a car full of my belongings there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Appauling hotel, dirty, nasty smell, very thin walls - could hear everything from the room above, rubbish left in bins, room not cleaned, and bed bugs! Plenty of other better hotels nearby to stay in rather than this one.

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel, choose another one nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviflagstaffe, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

While I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations, I strongly refute the allegation of an insect problem at our property. That has never been an issue for us due to the climate here. In any case, the hotel has been upgraded and improved in many ways since your stay with us more than two years ago, and I challenge you to come see how we’ve changed and improved since then. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I just wanted to say THANK YOU to the wonderful staff at the Flagstaff Inn. My husband and I were doing our annual mini vacation to Flagstaff and decided to try a new hotel. It was clean, the front desk was very friendly and helpful, and even though we didnt eat the food- it smelled delicious! The grounds were clean and the room was VERY clean (not a dust bunny to be found). I asked for a semi-private room and she put us in the back corner. It was perfect for snuggling in until 10 am without interruption. We'll DEFINATELY be staying here again. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66

Address: 1990 E. Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff E. Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.