We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was treated with hostility due to being an interracial couple.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Downtown
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #61 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was treated with hostility due to being an interracial couple.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My mother in law was flown to the Flagstaff Medical Center from Gallup. Because she needed to stay over night, my father in law got my husband and I a room at a local hotel while he stayed with her. While we were checking in the woman at the desk stood against the wall glaring @ us. She spoke only to me & answered my farher's questions to me. When she had to adress him directly she did so with hostility. I am white & my husband is Navajo. We left and went to another hotel where we were treated kindly and with courtosey.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    17
    9
    62
See reviews for
21
33
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nicely placed in downtown Flagstaff with its shops, the motel room was clean and tidy but cramped for two people with 2 Queen beds, a tiny bathroom with a small sink, the tiled shower needed the drain hole cleaning, and the walk-in closet was also very small, not much room for clothing and suitcases. Coffee required for two but were only supplied for one person once a day on the two days we stayed and asking for more coffee and creamer sachets at reception the lady was very curt. Asking for the password for internet access got the same reception, then I couldn't get on to the Hi-Speed Internet at all even when I managed to try various combinations of the passwords she had reluctantly given. The following day our towels were changed but we were only supplied for one person so had to ask the cleaner for another set. Disappointing stay because of the attitude but ideally situated for the town and for visiting places of interest.

Room Tip: Despite being close to the railroad, it's just across the road, not disturbed by the trains or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramah NM
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year on our way to Phoenix. Though very basic and plain, the motel is clean, has free wifi, and a great location downtown. My husband and I spent the evening walking around eating and shopping. Yes, the office smells of curry, but so what? The room smelled fine. We found the proprietor to be friendly and polite. My only problem was the traffic noise, but I'm a light sleeper. Since we only stayed one night it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The lesson here is that you get what you pay for. $79 is never going to get you in The Ritz but you’d still expect something decent for your money. In our case the hotel can make pass marks but only just.

The reception smelled strongly of curry and if it was being dished out I wouldn’t have minded, as it smelled quite, good but alas none was on offer.

We were given a ground floor corner room which was dark and cramped. It didn’t benefit from sunlight and to leave the curtains open would give all of Flagstaff a view of my body, and no one wants that! The whole room was dull and tired and I dread to think what a UV light would have revealed on the aged bed spread.

The toilet was small and cramped with tiling that came straight out of ’The Brady Bunch’, but the shower adequate. For some reason it had a window that opened onto a brick wall three inches behind it.

The toiletries amounted to one sliver of soap and there were no hangers on the coat rail.

In the morning the promised free breakfast didn’t materialise, apart from coffee and fruit juice dispensers. To be honest the small reception area wouldn’t have temped me to stay if food was laid on especially as that day’s Balti was already well under way!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Sadly not a good one. Going into reception/lobby/cafe and being assaulted by the smell of a curry cooking did not bode well. A fast check in which normally would be a good thing was carried out with a sense of "hurry up and let me get back to my curry". The room was dark dingy and weary. We daren't walk bare footed on the carpet and the bathroom, once the leaking toilet was repaired, was only adequate as tap leaked and no plug for the sink. Safe to say that the room ambience was depressing which, on reflection encouraged us to go and sample the local hostelries and was therefore a good thing. Traffic , train and train passenger noise resulted in a poor night sleep. Breakfast in the morning was non existent but the curry was cooking well.

For me, never again with rhodeway. Yes cheap, no not cheerful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rodeway Inn- Downtown
It is not often I find I cannot charm a smile or laugh out of people manning the front desk at a motel. I assume this was a husband and wife team and I feel I was lucky to just get checked in as they surely did not seem to want the business. Service was very slow at best and before I checked out housekeeping was already trying to open the door to my room to clean. I am glad I had the inside latch on.
The single bedroom was small, but ok and it had a little coffeemaker, refrig, and micro. The bathroom was so small I had to close the door to sit on the toilet.
However, it was one block from the downtown area so once I was parked I walked wherever I wanted. The $39.99 room rate is a bit confusing as there is also a utility charge that I found applied when I checked in. I was told the dog would be an additional $15 on the phone, but found the posted dog rate in the office to be $12. All in all, the bill came to $63! You would be much better taking the Motel 6 out in Woodland Village, paying less, getting free coffee in the office in the morning, and driving two miles into town if you did not find a place right in the area in which to slake your thirst and feed your stomach.
The Rodeway has a nice city park one block away for walking the dog, but the dog must be on a leash at all times.
Would I stay there again? No. Not because of the price, etc, but just because no one went out of the way to make me feel the least bit welcome.
As far as the downtown bars and grills, they are all pretty much the same with over priced food and drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LARGO
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a tough review to write. The first impression of this place is awful because it is so tiny that you don't think it could possibly work, but it does. Let's face it, when you are paying such a low price for a hotel, you have to expect minimum. But when you get down to the nitty gritty, it was fine. It was spotlessly clean, had a frig and microwave. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were fine. It was very well located for a trip to the Grand Canyon which was what we wanted. We are on a 30 day trip so wanted to keep expenses down. We knew we just needed a bed to sleep and would be gone all day. All they offered for breakfast was juice and coffee, but the orange juice was nice and thick (not watery) and was very good. The internet reception was good. There was no hanging space because they put the tv cabinet in the closet. Close to a really cute downtown area with everything you could ever want within walking distance. There was a train but we slept very well. It woujld probably be a problem for a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown

Address: 122 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.