We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The L Motel Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The L Motel Flagstaff to your Saves list
The L Motel Flagstaff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient and Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great hotel for the price- room was nice and big, bed was comfy, and the place was clean. It is near a road and gas station, so noises and smell of gas sometimes. Front desk was helpful and available. Also have a computer you can use in the lobby and flat screens in rooms. Bathroom was very large and clean also. Perfect for our one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    29
    14
    49
See reviews for
33
60
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Picked this one for our Flagstaff base during our Grand Canyon trip. This motel is located right off the highway close to the shops and downtown area and right opposite NAU in Flagstaff. There are many Inns/hotel in this area but this one is great value for the price. Our room was clean with an AC and microwave and comfortable beds. Staff was really friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Very comfortable and good experience. I would definitely pick this place if in Flagstaff again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've stayed in Flagstaff many many times in the last 18 years. The only one worth the money is Little America. HOWEVER the rooms inside the L Motel rate the same as the Courtyard etc. It was clean bit a little run down. I am happy enough to see that its been cleaned. For the price (esp. During the weekdays) its good- comparatively. Dont believe the Motel 8 or the Motel 6 or even Days Inn is going to be better. If you plan on spending lots of time in a room and want a nice scenery go to the Little America. Ill admit that the timeshare at Talaqua Paqui isn't a whole lot better...so why pay for it if you just need a place to crash? Lately I book the L Motel whenever I go up on the weekend to visit my college kid. Its more expensive on the weekends but so is everyplace else. Do yourself a.favor though- if you want the lowest rate call the hotel itself. Expedia and all the others show higher prices ecerytime and then I just go directly the hotels website..always cheaper. Now so far I've never had.to ask for an extra pillow or anything soni can't say much about the service. I just check In and check out. Noone bothers me. There are chairs outside the rooms for smokers-no need to smoke inside. Parking seems fine to me- I've taken my big ford never had an issue with parki g right in front of my door. Its a small place. So I don't knkw what those comments.are about. I plan on staying there many times this year. Everything is LIKE right next door. Starbucks etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Long story short: not as advertised. My wife and I were rolling through Flagstaff and wanted a good deal on one night. I found this place on another sight, checked out the pictures and saw that the price was $50/night. I thought it sounded good. We got there and it was plain nasty, dirty, smelled like smoke in the "non-smoking" room, and looked like a place where bad drug deals went down. As soon as my wife saw it she started crying; no joke. I went back to the guy in the office and told him that what I just saw was nothing like the pictures I saw online. I told him I wanted my money back and he said he couldn't. I didn't even argue with him, I just got out of there as soon as possible before my wife and me were caught in the middle of a drug-bust. Now the dude in the office was nice and all but clearly had no sense of justice. This place straight sucks.

Now if you're a guy or a group of guys that just need a place to crap and sleep, this is the place for you. But if you have a family or like clean things run away!

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerritos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just needed a place to crash and found the motel on Yelp. Staff really nice and friendly. The room was a 40.00 room. I got a 40.00 room with a large fridge and tv. The beds were old school with springs that you could feel and hear but as stated, I paid for a 40.00 room. Would definitely stay again if passing through on my way to the GC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a great choice for the budget conscious traveller. Me and the wife were on a trip around the country, we stopped in flagstaff on a whim and were glad we did. The motel is clean and close to downtown, a great choice for flagstaff !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Upon check in, room 110, the front desk clerk was friendly enough. He mentioned that breakfast was free in the morning and motioned towards a small table in the lobby. The parking lot is small. It's best to have a motorcycle or a small car, not that you couldn't park a pick-up truck but it may be a little difficult especially if there is another one next to you. The door to the room was a bit beat up and dirty. It looked like it may have been forced open sometime before. Once in the room it was very small and could use some work. There were two chairs in the room; one was a computer desk chair, and the other a lounge chair that was dirty. The bathroom was very small. The door to the bathroom had some paint missing from it. Upon looking closer, the shower looked like one of the glass windows had been removed and replaced by a shower curtain that had been put up to keep the water in the shower. It worked fine, but just a little redneck.
When I had to use the restroom I noticed that the toilet paper was at the end of the roll. I had to go to the office and request another roll. The desk clerk was more than happy to offer up 2 rolls. I stayed on a Sunday night. I had checked the rate for the Saturday night prior, and it was 2 and a half times the rate I paid for Sunday. Just my opinion but this room is barely worth the minimum rate much less what they ask for the weekend (Friday & Saturday). This room was okay for a place for a single guy to lay his head for a night. On the good side; I was able to open both the front window and bathroom window and turn on the ceiling fan to get some air flow thru the room for a good night’s sleep. I didn’t try the A/C. There was a small refrigerator and a microwave in the room along with a very big television. It was kind of felt like being in the front row at the movies. The carpet and the rest of the room seemed to be very clean. Bottom line, I guess I would stay there again, the next time I am thru Flagstaff on my motorcycle, but definitely not at the weekend rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The L Motel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Motel Flagstaff

Address: 121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The L Motel Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved features all new rooms with 46 inch or 40 inch LCD/Plasma TV, microwave, fridge and coffee pot, free continental breakfast, located across from Northern Arizona University and just 3 blocks from historical downtown Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The L Motel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Nau Hotel Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The L Motel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.