We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utility Surcharge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The L Motel Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added The L Motel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The L Motel Flagstaff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Utility Surcharge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you are choosing this motel to save money you should be aware that they have a "Utility Surcharge" that will be added to the rate quoted. I think it is $3.50 per night. You might want to call them and verify the current amount. The folks there are friendly and the rooms are adequate. The bed was comfortable. There was no chair in the room. It is an older hotel that shows it's age. My room was pretty clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    27
    7
    46
See reviews for
26
39
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The photos posted here are of when it was a Roadway Inn and have nothing to do with the current motel. Filthy, toilet seat was up in bathroom when we arrived, trash outside, felt like a seedy by the hour place, no internal security on room door, duct tape, no blankets on bed, lamp didn't work, wall heater (couldn't find co2 detector), ended up leaving and forfeiting the money and staying two doors down for the same price and light years better.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Cute upgrades and the prices are great. The family that owns it seem really sweet. However, I would recommend making absolute sure that you don't leave anything there. I know that all us make a good attempt at this but it does happen. They are not helpful and will tell you they will call back and never do. It seems they are only helpful while you are there. I believe they actually said, "stop by and we will give it to you". I happen to live in southern California so swinging today doesn't happen to be an option. I am happy that I hadn't left the review that they had asked me to leave while handing me their card....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was great, it is a motel so reviewing it as such, plenty of parking, near everything, big room, heater slow to warm but good once going. Breakfast was ok, a few choices and you help yourself. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On a winter weekend in Flagstaff, last minute lodging may be hard to find. The L Motel will fit the bill. Very affordable. Though old and dated, what you really need is a clean bed and in the winter, good heat right? They have those. The management will go out of their way to serve you. They have made obvious, if not humble efforts at upgrading including flat screen TV. WiFi included. Convenient to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Good location. Not expensive. Very good motel for a one night stay if you are going to the Grand Canyon South rim or near by attractions. The staff is very nice. As every one said the flat screen tv are a plus. Free wifi

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A young man at the train station gave me the name of this motel as a recommendation. I was so grateful to him. The gentleman behind the desk(Victor) greeted me with a very warm smile, and was such a gracious host. I was more than pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed. The flat panel '46' inch screen along with mini frig. and microwave added to the overall joy I experienced staying here. The cost of the room was the best part. There was a great restaurant across the street named "Granny's Closet" where I enjoyed a lovely Sun. morning breakfast. I really have to mention Victor again as it really says something when you come through the front door and you are greeted with an engaging and inviting attitude. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The L Motel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Motel Flagstaff

Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Nau Hotel Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Near Nau Hotel
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Address: 121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The L Motel Flagstaff 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved features all new rooms with 46 inch or 40 inch LCD/Plasma TV, microwave, fridge and coffee pot, free continental breakfast, located across from Northern Arizona University and just 3 blocks from historical downtown Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The L Motel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The L Motel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.