We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The L Motel Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added The L Motel Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The L Motel Flagstaff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Good location. Not expensive. Very good motel for a one night stay if you are going to the Grand Canyon South rim or near by attractions. The staff is very nice. As every one said the flat screen tv are a plus. Free wifi

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    36
    25
    12
    44
See reviews for
29
49
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A young man at the train station gave me the name of this motel as a recommendation. I was so grateful to him. The gentleman behind the desk(Victor) greeted me with a very warm smile, and was such a gracious host. I was more than pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed. The flat panel '46' inch screen along with mini frig. and microwave added to the overall joy I experienced staying here. The cost of the room was the best part. There was a great restaurant across the street named "Granny's Closet" where I enjoyed a lovely Sun. morning breakfast. I really have to mention Victor again as it really says something when you come through the front door and you are greeted with an engaging and inviting attitude. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed there several times over the years (mainly for location) on the promise each time that they are renovating and/or updating. However so far the only improvement I have seen is the introduction of a large flat screen TV, I can only vouch for that in room 121 . The rooms are small yet they manage to squeeze two double beds in some of them and call it a family room, I was unable to walk around one of the beds, but you can live with that. The view from the rear windows (which I had trouble securing) is an unkept vacant block. The room was dirty, plenty of dust and had some unrepaired damage ie the bathroom door/door jam were destroyed and was inoperable, A/Con too small with no front cover, the main door had some shabby repair work done to it, etc. Breakfast was a joke a couple of stale rolls, at least the coffee had some taste to it. There is no Guest Laundry and no facilities for getting laundry done by the hotel. The staff were friendly but not particullarly helpful. I managed to get all this at Double the Recommended Wed/Thurs price which was more than the week-end prices on the pretext that there were special events happening all over town (Ichecked there wasn't). I informed the manager of this and he deducted ten dollars off the nightly fee still making it double the price to what i found out later, it was worth. To be fair the hotel was nearly full for the two nights I stayed there.

On a positive note it's situated on the Historic Route 66 and it is within walking distance (all within a mile) to Old Town Flagstaff, Bars, Fast Food outlets and Restaurants

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I think a review of one is too high. Where to start. On a Route 66 road trip and have been really impressed with the motels so far, but oh dear...
The only decent thing about the room is the TV...end of story.
Tatty, not terribly clean, hard bed, front door doesn't fit properly. I could go on. Didn't bother with the breakfast.
AVOID!
Find a comfy ditch...

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's definitely not a new fancy place, but it manages to preserve the old Route 66 feel. The rooms were adequate, and we were glad to be upgraded with no additional costs. Do not count on eating the breakfast in the breakfast room, though - only one table.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Staff was friendly and came to AMTRAK station to pick us up at no charge, wouldn't accept a tip. The room was small clean and bed reasonably comfortable. Equipped with microwave and small refrig. This is an older property that is reasonalby maintained. I'd stay here again. I rate is as average because of age and size. It has the nostalgic charm of being on old Route 66. I didn't see historical informatin but I suspect this property was active in the days Route 66 was the main road. It is within easy walking distance of old downtown Flagstaff and the AMTRAK station but I would not want to carry my luggage to the AMTRAK station from the motel. A health food store is nearby..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've stayed there twice taking my daughter to Northern Arizona University for orientation and then to check in to the dorms. The location can't be beat, it's at the NW corner of NAU and within easy walking distance of several restaurants.

The motel itself is fairly old and my guess is that it was there before I-40 existed, back when route 66 was the main road. The address is on Milton Rd where it becomes route 66 for about three blocks. Getting into the parking lot from the south can be a challenge; the road is fairly busy much of the day. This also means the hotel can be a little noisy at night from the traffic.

I've stayed in three different rooms there, 109, 110 and 122. We had to move out of 122 this most recent time due to a problem with them working on the roof when a heavy thunderstorm came through. When I mentioned the drip from the roof the manager came over within minutes and had us in another room in no time. The management and staff have been very friendly and helpful both times I've stayed there.

As I mentioned the hotel is fairly old and each of the three rooms I've stayed at was laid out differently with completely different bath/shower setup. it's as if they've remodeled the hotel over the years, each time deciding on a different way of organizing the room.

The rooms all have large screen TVs, microwaves and fridges as well as a desk/work area. What they lack the most is convenient power. They have power strips by the TV/fridge/microwave but that's about it.

Wi-Fi access was strong in #122 (closest to the street and office) and weak but usable in rooms 109/110, on the west side of the parking lot, farthest from the street.

All in all, if you want to save some money and still stay in a place convenient to NAU and downtown, this Rodeway’s a great place to stay.

Room Tip: East side is closer to route 66 - better Wi-Fi, more traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The L Motel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Motel Flagstaff

Address: 121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The L Motel Flagstaff 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved features all new rooms with 46 inch or 40 inch LCD/Plasma TV, microwave, fridge and coffee pot, free continental breakfast, located across from Northern Arizona University and just 3 blocks from historical downtown Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The L Motel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Nau Hotel Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The L Motel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.