We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The L Motel Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The L Motel Flagstaff to your Saves list
The L Motel Flagstaff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Frisco, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I've stayed there twice taking my daughter to Northern Arizona University for orientation and then to check in to the dorms. The location can't be beat, it's at the NW corner of NAU and within easy walking distance of several restaurants.

The motel itself is fairly old and my guess is that it was there before I-40 existed, back when route 66 was the main road. The address is on Milton Rd where it becomes route 66 for about three blocks. Getting into the parking lot from the south can be a challenge; the road is fairly busy much of the day. This also means the hotel can be a little noisy at night from the traffic.

I've stayed in three different rooms there, 109, 110 and 122. We had to move out of 122 this most recent time due to a problem with them working on the roof when a heavy thunderstorm came through. When I mentioned the drip from the roof the manager came over within minutes and had us in another room in no time. The management and staff have been very friendly and helpful both times I've stayed there.

As I mentioned the hotel is fairly old and each of the three rooms I've stayed at was laid out differently with completely different bath/shower setup. it's as if they've remodeled the hotel over the years, each time deciding on a different way of organizing the room.

The rooms all have large screen TVs, microwaves and fridges as well as a desk/work area. What they lack the most is convenient power. They have power strips by the TV/fridge/microwave but that's about it.

Wi-Fi access was strong in #122 (closest to the street and office) and weak but usable in rooms 109/110, on the west side of the parking lot, farthest from the street.

All in all, if you want to save some money and still stay in a place convenient to NAU and downtown, this Rodeway’s a great place to stay.

Room Tip: East side is closer to route 66 - better Wi-Fi, more traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    25
    12
    44
See reviews for
30
49
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've noticed a lot of people on here have complained about this motel. I understand where this comes from, however before staying here, keep in mind, you are buying the true historic route 66 experience, not a luxury stay at the Ritz. This hotel is for the adventurous traveler in search of reliving the route 66 days with a couple modern comforts. Wifi is great here and new flat screen TVs have been installed. The Roadway inn is right across from NAU, and just a couple blocks (an easy walk) to downtown Flagstaff. Granted, this may not be the room you want to spend all day lazing around in, but it's location is ideal for those who want a good rate on a clean, authentic route 66 type room for the nights and an active itinerary during the day. Customer service is great--desk clerks are very willing to accommodate guests and address any problems that arise. It seems that improvements are in the plans for the future, and I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The worst place I have ever stayed ! Dirty and nasty ! The only thing that was ok was the flat screen tv. Did not feel like touching anything inside the room. Paint chipping and doors in bad condition. Will never stay at another Rodeway inn again. This hotel should be removed from all vacation sites.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a great place free wifi, great rates, 2 king size beds a 40+inch lcd , fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and free breakfast. the rooms were very clean, and the people working there were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The WORST "hotel" experience EVER!
1- The room smells.. and i mean it
2- DIRTY (I found a quarter of dollar on the ground and a used tussue behind the table)
3- DIRTY (we worried we were arriving and- the room smelled of a last class soap and the table was still wet)
4- The guy at the desk (indian looking with a earring on right ear, stomach and a Van Dyke beards charged more than established saying "8 dollars more is not a big deal")
5- Fatiscent looking inside and outside
6- The fridge and some lights where not working

Depending if you consider this positive or negative, the entire city smells of weed.. in any case I think that no one would either sleep or get high in that place..
Unfortunatley we arrived late at night from a long trip and we did'nt had time to look for something else...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Words can't really express this traveller's feelings!
However as I have to give 200 words or more...
Grubby, unsafe, dodgy, rip-off, avoid, broken and never-again would be somewhere in there.
Just don't

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel was one stop on an extended family vacation through the Southwest US. I booked this through the ChoiceHotels.com website and have had good success with so many of their other properties. Not with the Rodeway Inn near NAU. I had my wife and four kids with me so I needed a larger space. I got the corner room, number 105, that had a large room with two queen beds and a smaller room with one queen bed. When we arrived, the whole suite was extremely warm. The tiny wall mounted air conditioner in the smaller room was not powerful enough to cool both rooms. And, it was incredibly noisy. My iPhone app registered the air conditioner at 70dB, about the same as a vacuum cleaner. I would have liked to have the window open in the smaller room during the night for the cool Flagstaff breeze, but there was no screen. I tried the ceiling fan, but when it was on the whole apparatus wobbled as if it were ready to come down on the bed. And the bed... the box springs were old and creaky and made horrible noises every time I made a move during the night. In the bathroom, when we arrived there was a used shampoo bottle on the floor in the corner. At the bottom of the sink cabinet near the floor, there was mold. The suite had two large, wall-mounted flat screen TVs, unknown brand, that emitted so much heat, no wonder the air conditioner couldn't keep up. The rest of the property was dirty and very run down. On the exterior wall between rooms 106 and 107, a power outlet faceplate was undone and dangling, exposing the wires in the box. A fire hazard.

I will never stay at this property again, and will never recommend that any family or friend consider this place as an option. In the tiny lobby there was a plaque that indicated that this property was AAA diamond rated. Maybe it should be rated with cubic zirconia, but not diamond.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The L Motel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Motel Flagstaff

Address: 121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The L Motel Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved features all new rooms with 46 inch or 40 inch LCD/Plasma TV, microwave, fridge and coffee pot, free continental breakfast, located across from Northern Arizona University and just 3 blocks from historical downtown Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The L Motel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Nau Hotel Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The L Motel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.