We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The True Old Fashioned Expierence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The L Motel Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The L Motel Flagstaff to your Saves list
The L Motel Flagstaff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The True Old Fashioned Expierence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've noticed a lot of people on here have complained about this motel. I understand where this comes from, however before staying here, keep in mind, you are buying the true historic route 66 experience, not a luxury stay at the Ritz. This hotel is for the adventurous traveler in search of reliving the route 66 days with a couple modern comforts. Wifi is great here and new flat screen TVs have been installed. The Roadway inn is right across from NAU, and just a couple blocks (an easy walk) to downtown Flagstaff. Granted, this may not be the room you want to spend all day lazing around in, but it's location is ideal for those who want a good rate on a clean, authentic route 66 type room for the nights and an active itinerary during the day. Customer service is great--desk clerks are very willing to accommodate guests and address any problems that arise. It seems that improvements are in the plans for the future, and I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    28
    12
    45
See reviews for
31
54
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The worst place I have ever stayed ! Dirty and nasty ! The only thing that was ok was the flat screen tv. Did not feel like touching anything inside the room. Paint chipping and doors in bad condition. Will never stay at another Rodeway inn again. This hotel should be removed from all vacation sites.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a great place free wifi, great rates, 2 king size beds a 40+inch lcd , fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and free breakfast. the rooms were very clean, and the people working there were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The WORST "hotel" experience EVER!
1- The room smells.. and i mean it
2- DIRTY (I found a quarter of dollar on the ground and a used tussue behind the table)
3- DIRTY (we worried we were arriving and- the room smelled of a last class soap and the table was still wet)
4- The guy at the desk (indian looking with a earring on right ear, stomach and a Van Dyke beards charged more than established saying "8 dollars more is not a big deal")
5- Fatiscent looking inside and outside
6- The fridge and some lights where not working

Depending if you consider this positive or negative, the entire city smells of weed.. in any case I think that no one would either sleep or get high in that place..
Unfortunatley we arrived late at night from a long trip and we did'nt had time to look for something else...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Words can't really express this traveller's feelings!
However as I have to give 200 words or more...
Grubby, unsafe, dodgy, rip-off, avoid, broken and never-again would be somewhere in there.
Just don't

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel was one stop on an extended family vacation through the Southwest US. I booked this through the ChoiceHotels.com website and have had good success with so many of their other properties. Not with the Rodeway Inn near NAU. I had my wife and four kids with me so I needed a larger space. I got the corner room, number 105, that had a large room with two queen beds and a smaller room with one queen bed. When we arrived, the whole suite was extremely warm. The tiny wall mounted air conditioner in the smaller room was not powerful enough to cool both rooms. And, it was incredibly noisy. My iPhone app registered the air conditioner at 70dB, about the same as a vacuum cleaner. I would have liked to have the window open in the smaller room during the night for the cool Flagstaff breeze, but there was no screen. I tried the ceiling fan, but when it was on the whole apparatus wobbled as if it were ready to come down on the bed. And the bed... the box springs were old and creaky and made horrible noises every time I made a move during the night. In the bathroom, when we arrived there was a used shampoo bottle on the floor in the corner. At the bottom of the sink cabinet near the floor, there was mold. The suite had two large, wall-mounted flat screen TVs, unknown brand, that emitted so much heat, no wonder the air conditioner couldn't keep up. The rest of the property was dirty and very run down. On the exterior wall between rooms 106 and 107, a power outlet faceplate was undone and dangling, exposing the wires in the box. A fire hazard.

I will never stay at this property again, and will never recommend that any family or friend consider this place as an option. In the tiny lobby there was a plaque that indicated that this property was AAA diamond rated. Maybe it should be rated with cubic zirconia, but not diamond.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I almost didn't review this "motel" since by doing so, I would admit to staying here. However, if this helps people avoid this place ... mission accomplished.

After hiking on a recent weekend, we decided at the last minute to book a room for the night. Everywhere decent was booked so we had to settle on this property. Reading the positive reviews, I can understand why folks would be ok with place at 50 bucks a night. But for 150 ... the story is much different.

First, the positives. The on site manager is doing a great job with a substandard property. Great guy. Very helpful.

The rooms have a huge flat screen TV. However, this is like saying I just put a shiny new bumper on my 1973 Pinto. To say the rooms are dingy is an insult to dingy rooms all across the world. Peeling paint, dirty carpets and a bathroom that must be seen to be believed. I have now had my first encounter with white sandpaper. I never knew a towel could achieve such a consistency. Our door barely locked and had very obviously been kicked in a few times in the past.

As a result of what I surmise to be the poorly ventilated rooms, there are chairs outside facing the parking lot where folks apparently like to sit and escape the prison cells they have rented for the evening. Seriously, on the night we stayed, most of the people looked like they came straight out of central casting. The motel has definitely achieved the "great place to hide from the cops" vibe.

Avoid this place. At all costs. I should have slept in the car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The L Motel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Motel Flagstaff

Address: 121 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Rodeway Inn near NAU)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The L Motel Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved features all new rooms with 46 inch or 40 inch LCD/Plasma TV, microwave, fridge and coffee pot, free continental breakfast, located across from Northern Arizona University and just 3 blocks from historical downtown Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The L Motel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Nau Hotel Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The L Motel Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.