We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knockout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument

Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument
U.S 89 to Sunset Crater - Wupatki Loop road, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
928-526-0502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 44 attractions in Flagstaff
Type: National Parks, Volcanos, Monuments/ Statues
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located north of Flagstaff, this crater was created by a volcanic eruption 900 years ago.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Knockout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I really loved this place. Common entrance fee with Wupatki so its really good value and it has its own visitor centre which has lots of good explanatory information and helpful staff. You cant climb the crater itself which is protected but there is a self guided walk (worth buying the guide for $1 or so) which takes you across the lava field. It was so quiet and peaceful when I visited and you look around not just at Sunset Crater itself but all the other surrounding volcanic remains and the whole plave is very evocative.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    203
    48
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Unique landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were there during a cold spell in mid April and there were flurries in the air and snowing on the San Francisco mountains. There is a minimal entrance fee. We took the short lava trail walk (not really a hike) and it gives you a chance to see the variety of volcanic features. This is just one of many cinder cones in this area and if you continue driving north to Wupatki National Monument you will see wonderful vistas and more volcanic features. It must have been very interesting to live in this area 900 years ago.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lava flows are cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We liked the scenery and the descriptions of the lava flows. If you have never seen a lava flow, this is interesting. If you have an interest in geology, this is interesting. My wife and children thought it was ok. I loved it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“One of our favorite Arizona Parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We didn't plan on visiting Wupatki and Sunset Crater again, but the children requested it. They remembered visiting the year before and wanted to do it again. The last time we visited, we got to the visitor center after it had closed. We were happy to get to see it this time around. The visitor center is packed with historical information about the park and the rangers were very helpful and friendly.

The last time we visited the blow hole wasn't very impressive, but this time around it was amazing. This little blow hole was one of the highlights of the trip for the children. The ruins are also impressive. This is one of the few parks where you can still enter the ruins.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Who knew there were volcanoes in Arizona? Fantastic drive through park. Entry fee is $5 per person and this gets you into the Wupatki Indian ruins also. if you got the legs, take the hike up Lenox crater and get an awesome view of the mountains. Easily can spend a full day exploring the craters, lava flows and Indian ruins.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument to your Saves list