We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome winter hike!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument

Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument
U.S 89 to Sunset Crater - Wupatki Loop road, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
928-526-0502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 79 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located north of Flagstaff, this crater was created by a volcanic eruption 900 years ago.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Awesome winter hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went in January when it was pretty darn cold (21), but sunny. Some places had 8 inches of snow, but the hike was still very cool. I hiked up to the top of O'Leary's Peak! Very cool, but strenuous. The grade was 11% and pretty snowy at times, but still fun. The view from the top was amazing. I saw all the cinder cones from the top and the view of the San Francisco mountains was to die for. The visitor center was pretty cool and informative also.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    270
    62
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Illinois
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We toured the Sunset Crater area and Wow, very interesting. This was an active volcanic area about 900 years ago. There is the big Sunset Crater and many little cinder cones. My husband called the "wantabe's"!! Stop at the Visitor Center and learn more and enjoy the walks and see the rugged lava.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had had no idea there were so many volcanic cones in Northern Arizona before I started my research. This cone is well-defined and is quite clearly a volcano. The best view of the cone is before you actually get into the national park. There is a turn off (Bonito I think) on the road in and this is your picture opportunity. Once you get into the park and start going to the different areas, you see lava flows, views, and if you continue up to the northern part of the loop road, pueblo ruins and the painted desert. The road is improved, but there are no amenities except at the visitor's centers at the north and south ends. When we went it was VERY cold and windy. It was a real issue walking through the pueblos. We had dressed for quick in and out of the car so were under-dressed. Our fault, but I pass it on as a warning to others. We enjoyed the whole drive very much and got some spectacular pictures to remember it by.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Very interesting, a mini-St.Helens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

There was a major volcanic eruption here in 1064, and the interpretive trail shows you the damage and the lava flow. Unlike St Helens, the vegetation has returned very slowly. The visitor cente also shows the influence of the eruption on the Sinagauas who lived here, and eventually returned.
Unfortunately it is no longer allowed to climb the peak, and you can't see the crater from below.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“the drive alone was worth it . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The drive between Sunset Crater and Wupatki was beautiful. Sunset has some great areas to view the lava flow, we weren't able to spend enough time because we got there late in the afternoon. However, golden hour was spectacular. Not far from Flagstaff, and a great learning experience also.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.