We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Flagstaff to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family has stayed here a number of times, most recently in January. To put everything in perspective, for the most part, we only stay at this property when there is a significant price difference between this and the other Marriott properties in Flagstaff, at times, $30 or more and when we know we will not need a lot of space. When the rates are comparable, I stay elsewhere.
When viewed that way, should I have the same expectations for this property? Probably not.
Starting with arrival at the hotel, instead of entering the hotel from the front, main entrance, is easier to enter from the back. The driveway off of Milton is steep, narrow and of course, not straight. It is worse when there is ice, but too many drivers drive down the middle when the drive is dry so we never use the front entrance. We prefer to turn onto S. Meadows, then make the next right (which has a dead end sign) it is behind the CoCo's. The street name is S. Beaulah (may not be spelled exactly right). Follow it around and you end up at the front door.
The hotel appears to be very old, but the staff seems to do a good job keeping everything clean. It could definitely use an overhaul, but in my opinion, it requires more than a facelift. The carpets throughout are old, but again, always clean. Our room was on the 3rd floor and when we walked in our room,the armoire shook. There were 3 of us, one young boy, not being boisterous and the other 2, just average size adults. The hallway seemed to have some waves. New carpets will not fix either of those.
Everything about the hotel is small. The luggage carts are kept outside, except when hoarded by occupants. I think this is due to there being no spare square footage inside. I have yet to decide if it is easier to deal with luggage with or without the cart since the entry to the elevator is the size of a postage stamp. And they crammed vending machines on the stamp! We have actually had to back the cart back into the hall because someone was trying to come off the elevator with luggage as we were waiting to get on. I know that does not sound like a big deal, but there is one elevator and by the time you finish musical chairs, the elevator is gone.
Keeping with the small theme, the rooms are tiny. Again, ours have been clean and I have never found any surprises, but don't count on having room to move around. I was not aware that a sink, toilet and bathtub could occupy such a small amount of space, and there is almost no room for toiletries. If you include the top of the toilet tank, you might have a total of one square foot.
The breakfast is the same breakfast you will find in any Fairfield, but, the breakfast room is tiny. We have found it is easier to send the husband down with something to put in the truck (because you will not get a cart) then he eats his breakfast downstairs. When he is done he gets breakfast for the rest of us and we eat in the room.
All in all, will I stay again, yes. As I mentioned before, we stay here when the price is good and we don't need to "spread out", for example, I could not imagine trying to stay here while skiing, unless of course there is a significant price difference, then I would have to figure it out!
Almost forgot to mention the fresh fruit at the front desk, sometimes individually wrapped apples! I don't know where they come from, but each one I have ever picked up has been great.
I have never encountered a member of the staff who was less than pleasant. Everyone has always been friendly and attentive.
Although my review seems to be full of negative comments, I did rate the property higher than many might agree with because, as previously mentioned, the price is much lower and as tiny as the rooms may be, everything is always clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    175
    130
    53
    16
See reviews for
137
185
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stopped here en route to Santa Fe. Terrific location, close to main highway, comfy and reasonable room, Good breakfast, with hot items, lots of fruit and yogurt too. Staff very friendly. One drawback, the wifi connection was slow in our room on the second floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Part of route 66 trip.

Friendly welcome, very busy hotel, Prior room choice accepted, Rather dated accommodation and hotel, but clean and comfortable rooms. Quiet. Wi fi, parking. Breakfast quite good, but lack of seating for number of guests, Plenty of valuable information available for Grand Canyon and surrounding areas, Only one available computer and that very close to reception and need to stand up to operate, Short drive to downtown,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We searched Expedia etc. for a hotel, there are lots of them all competitively priced, and this one was marked as 25% off on same evening stay. Rather than book online we drove up asked for a king, with AAA discount or whatever, got it for less than Expedia/Priceline. Lots of parking, very clean and quiet, recommend.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, UT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This motel is located well away from the all-night railroad blasts along the Burlington/Santa Fe main line in town, which is a major advantage. The staff is friendly and cooperative. In season, the outdoor pool is pleasant, located under a canopy of Ponderosa Pine trees.

I have been staying here occasionally for over 20 years, and the facility is showing signs of aging and an outmoded design. Once, this was one of only two or three motels in this part of town; now, there is an abundance of other, newer choices in the same area.

It is still a good choice for someone on a tight budget, though, and it would be a better choice than ANY motel along or near Santa Fe Avenue, which goes along the railroad's main line.

Room Tip: The third floor facing west or north is relatively quiet and looks out into a grove of Pondersa Pine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I just spent 4 days and nights at the downtown Marriott in Riverside, Ca. It was expensive + they charged 13 bucks a day for internet, 8 bucks a night to park and 4 bucks for a cup of coffee. Gip joint. I said I'd never stay in another Marriott, but, I had this one reserved and paid for. IT IS OUTSTANDING. GOOD RATE. FREE INTERNET AND PARKING. FERT BREAKFAST. Desk clerk, Erick, asked me if I had s room preference. I told him about mt lousy experience in Riverside and said, "Just make me happy." He put me in a beautiful room on the third floor with a fantastic view. Erick, saved the day for Marriott. I've changed my mind, I'll be back. THANK YOU ERICK!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very happy with my stay. I stayed 2 nights and was very pleased with the room in every regard. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and the included breakfast was very good. The hotel pays close attention to guest security requiring a room key to operate the elevator as well as entering the building after 10pm. I felt the value I received for the price paid was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Flagstaff

Address: 2005 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the cool mountain pines of beautiful Northern Arizona, the Fairfield Inn by Marriott in Flagstaff offers warm, personalized service along with cozy rooms in the classic Fairfield Inn design. Experience all the wonderful sites and breath taking monuments that surround the city of Flagstaff. The Grand Canyon, Sedona's Red Rocks, Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater are all within a short drive from the hotel. Flagstaff's popular local attractions include the Lowell Observatory, Arizona Snowbowl, Route 66, Riordan Mansion and the Arboretum. The hotel is conveniently situated within walking distance of numerous restaurants. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff take pride in providing you with all the resources you need to plan the perfect adventure. Let us be your hub for a wonderful Northern Arizona Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Fairfield Flagstaff
Flagstaff Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.