We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient , if dated, property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff to your Saves list
Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Flagstaff)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Palos Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Convenient , if dated, property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Fairfield Inn was our base for a short stay in northern Arizona, exploring Flagstaff, skiing in Snowbowl and checking out the Grand Canyon in winter. The price was good. The breakfast, included in the stay, was OK and provided sufficient fuel for skiing. The location was good for our daytrips. The rooms/bathrooms were small but we did not spend much time there.

I agree that for winter visits any potential guest should be aware of a couple of things. First, that this is an older property with exterior corridors with your doors opening to the outside. You have to be bundled up before stepping out and do so quickly if it is snowing, raining, or just plain windy. You need to dress warmly just to go to the lobby. The second is the the hairpin loop that the driveway takes on the way up from Rt. 89 (old Rt 66) up the steep slope to the hotel and its parking lot. It can be tricky in the snow and ice and was closed at one point during our stay; we took a back exit onto S. Beulah Blvd to get out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cubs1123, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. I wanted to let you know our 3rd floor rooms have interior entrances. Just ask when you make your reservation. We also have 2 entrances. The one you referred to, and we have a back entrance, that is easy to navigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    192
    138
    58
    20
See reviews for
161
195
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This motel is in the heart of downtown Flagstaff and was clearly filled with skiiers and snowboarders the first weekend in January when we arrived. (Snowbowl, the top ski area in northern Arizona and about 16 miles away from the Fairfield, had just opened some days prior.)

No suites are available at this Fairfield, and the rooms are pretty cramped -- for example, the desk is situated right by the front door to the room, and you have to move out of the way if someone is exiting or entering the room. The toilet closet with the tub/shower combo is particularly cramped. Last comment on the rooms: the carpets are filthy and in dire need of replacing.

Also, if you frequently stay at the Marriott Fairfield brand hotels, do note this particular location only offers a continental breakfast, although microwavable Jimmy Dean egg/bacon/cheese sandwiches are available. On a Saturday morning in January, though, the breakfast room was jam-packed for several hours, and we had trouble getting a table.

The exercise room contains one treadmill, one stationary bike and one stair master. No free weights, mats, stability balls or anything of that ilk.

The staff is by far the best part of the Fairfield..... super nice and caring. I wouldn't have expected a call from the front desk 20 minutes after we checked in, asking if everything were okay. What a lovely touch. All in all, the price is reasonable (we paid $99 per night for a room with two double beds), and if you're not in need of pampering or luxury, the Fairfield in Flagstaff should suit your needs.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the first and second floors exit to the outside. If you don't want to go outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was OK. Busy due to the skiers but no problems to speak of. Am not a big fan of outside entrance to your room but the hotel was our choice but will look for something different when in Flagstaff. Breakfast was very good and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Because we travel a great deal, provided we have comfortable beds and pleasant surrounding and service, we are not big on absolute luxury and over-the-top everything or anything. Here we found the perfect match and balance. Located with easy access to the freeway south to Phoenix, we liked everything about the Fairfield Inn. The entire process of check-in was seamless and fast and all the front desk staff were extremely efficient and very friendly and personable. They asked about our room preference and we ended up with one on the ground floor, very close to amenities but also very quiet. The room was very comfortable, as was the bed and although the bathroom was compact, the shower was great and the space perfectly adequate. We also appreciated the seniors' rate, allocated at the time of online booking, which made our stay extremely reasonable in price. Front desk staff also made recommendations for dinner at a nearby restaurant, which proved to be very good and, as well, within easy walking distance. Breakfast is included in the room rate and allowed plenty of choice through self-serve options. Generally we could not fault anything here and accordingly, commend the staff and management very highly.

Room Tip: A ground level room allows easy-access parking at the door, perhaps on the pool side and away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful when we checked in. Fresh cookies and other snacks are available there. We noticed the pool was closed for the season, but the hot tub was not.

We had a room on the third floor which was accessible by the elevator and had an interior corridor.The two floors below had exterior entrances lke the older hotels. This hotel was probably remodeled and a third floor added. Rooms were spotlessly clean with flat screen TV and microwave. Only problem with the bathroom was that it was very small. Beds were comfortable with nice linens. Rooms have free wifi, and it worked fine.

Complimentary breakfast had a nice assortment and everything was restocked as it ran out. Coffee and tea available all the time. Newspapers available at the desk.

Would stay here again. Just wish the bathrooms were larger.

Room Tip: Thid floor rooms have an interior corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Flagstaff hotels are pricey. We were thrilled to find a Fairfield Inn at $67 a night, WAY lower than the rest! This is an older hotel, but served us well – safe, clean, quiet, free wi-fi, and free breakfast. More positives: nice room, good LG TV, generous hot breakfast with enough for all, fresh baked cookie on arrival, USA Today paper, courteous desk clerk, speedy elevator secured with guest key operation. Downside: hall carpet seen better days, smaller room, bed a trifle firm. NOTE: The entrance is hard to find. Go slow and don’t miss it, it is hard to make a U-turn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Bottom line for us is Clean, Comfy, & Great Location. This hotel was all three. This property feels very new. The room was pristine, although quite small. That's about the only drawback, along with windows that don't open. Perhaps that is just a security issue with hotels. When I'm in the mountains in fall I want to be able to crack a window open. Other than that the stay was very nice. Breakfast was great for a continental serve yourself.

Room Tip: I think west or north facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff

Address: 2005 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Flagstaff)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the cool mountain pines of beautiful Northern Arizona, the Baymont Inn & Suites in Flagstaff offers warm, personalized service along with cozy rooms. Experience all the wonderful sites and breath taking monuments that surround the city of Flagstaff. The Grand Canyon, Sedona's Red Rocks, Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater are all within a short drive from the hotel. Flagstaff's popular local attractions include the Lowell Observatory, Arizona Snowbowl, Route 66, Riordan Mansion and the Arboretum. The hotel is conveniently situated within walking distance of numerous restaurants. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff take pride in providing you with all the resources you need to plan the perfect adventure. Let us be your hub for a wonderful Northern Arizona Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Fairfield Flagstaff
Flagstaff Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn and Suites Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.