We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2005 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Needs Updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stayed here before when diving I40. This hotel seems to have gone downhill. Rooms were clean but small. External corridors which can be a problem in the winter, it gets cold in Flagstaff. Marriott rated this a Cat. 4 hotel but it did not deserve that rating. Staff was helpful and location is good. We may try other hotels in Flagstaff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    168
    118
    47
    16
See reviews for
127
171
22
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California Bay Area
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've stayed at Marriott's Courtyard and the Fairfield Inn and prefer the Fairfield Inn. First, it is closer to town, second, the Fairfield Inn includes a complementary breakfast, third, the rooms I've stayed in have been quieter than the room at the Courtyard, fourth, the front desk staff seems friendlier, and, fifth, the Fairfield Inn is less expensive. I also like having a complementary newspaper at the front desk as well as complementary tea and coffee throughout the day.

Room Tip: I always request a quiet room when traveling and rooms 206 and 306, especially, were very quiet. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel was nice and the staff was friendly and helpful. But the room did not isolate one from the noise: you could hear people walking in the room above you, you could hear when someone flushed the toilet in the room above. Not a room you would rate "Very Good". The breakfast had a large selection including eggs but no fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Pick top floor to avoid noise from rooms above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and the end of our canyon hiking vacation when traveling from Phoenix to the canyons. The hotel is extremely clean, very well appointed, hot tub was terrific, and the service was great. The breakfast they offer was much appreicated and very good. It was so very nice to see employees happily doing thier jobs and doing them well. They breakfast crew really kept things moving, keeping up with very busy visitors, stocking itmes constantly, keeping the area clean, and all with smiling faces! We will return the next time we're in Flagstaff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Made a big mistake by booking this property. Travelling for weeks, and needed 5 days in Flagstaff to cover the Grand Canyon and other nearby locations. Didn't realize this Fairfield Inn is a 'generation 1' property.
This means outside room entrances, is noisy, and is a poorly designed room, with no privacy between the bathroom prep area and the sleeping area. My wife sleeps poorly due to various health issues, but this room was extremely hard to use without waking her in the morning. Even using a flashlight to move around, I could not get up at 7 am without rousing her. Of course, the exterior noise was another critical issue. Two mornings by 7 am there was a motorcycle and a tour bus warming up right under our unit entrance (room 220, just off the lobby canopy). Even I was awakened.
This unit was reminiscint of a very old Holiday Inn. Not run down, but of the same basic design. A very small room with outside balcony walkway. Noisy clothes wardrobe doors. Couldn't turn on the toilet-area light from inside the toilet room; the switch was in the main room, so there was no way to turn on the bathroom light without reflecting light through the sleeping area.
One thing we never understood was why you had to have a room key to operate the elevator off the lobby. All it did was inconvenience you if you had luggage or packages. The other entrances were unsecured. Never saw any sign of security otherwise.
Off Milton Road, the entrance is cut into the hill and winds around. Don't try to take a motorhome or large vehicle in the front entrance. Call ahead for instructions on where to enter from the rear, and where to park.
Didn't have an issue with the breakfast like some reviewers, but the room was small. The manager seemed to like to speak to guests at breakfast, which I personally found annoying. Not everyone was as happy with waking up early as he apparently is.

Room Tip: If travelling with your spouse, at any Fairfield Inn, ask to be sure the bathroom is completely sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cubs1123, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I am sorry you had a bad experiance at our hotel. Our goal is to make each guest have a great stay at our hotel. I am the manager that walks around and talks to guests at breakast. I ask them how thier stay was, give directions to local attractions, and most seem to enjoy having someone
ask about thier stay. My goal was not to annoy, and I am sorry I did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is relatively new. It is clean and well kept up. Our room was a little small, but fine for our needs. The employees were friendly and very helpful. Very fine continental breakfast, great variety to choose from. After breakfast, there are snacks in the lobby and coffee. Just an excellent well run hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here. One good thing is that it is far from the railroad tracks, which is a deterrent for many similar properties in Flagstaff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent one night here after spening one night at the Courtyard. I didn't care for the room, it was very small. The staff was nice though and moved us to a different room after we had a problem being near the entry door to the wing. While we were there for about 20 minutes, the door slammed 15 times! It was very loud, they need to work on that. The new room was quieter with a huge bathroom, wheelchair accessable (which we didn't need). It was okay but I prefer the Courtyard and the price wasn't that much different.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Flagstaff

Address: 2005 South Milton Road, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Flagstaff 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the cool mountain pines of beautiful Northern Arizona, the Fairfield Inn by Marriott in Flagstaff offers warm, personalized service along with cozy rooms in the classic Fairfield Inn design. Experience all the wonderful sites and breath taking monuments that surround the city of Flagstaff. The Grand Canyon, Sedona's Red Rocks, Walnut Canyon and Sunset Crater are all within a short drive from the hotel. Flagstaff's popular local attractions include the Lowell Observatory, Arizona Snowbowl, Route 66, Riordan Mansion and the Arboretum. The hotel is conveniently situated within walking distance of numerous restaurants. Our friendly and knowledgeable staff take pride in providing you with all the resources you need to plan the perfect adventure. Let us be your hub for a wonderful Northern Arizona Experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Fairfield Flagstaff
Flagstaff Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.