We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had everything you could need for a happy camping experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA
Save
You added Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA to your Saves list
5803 North US 89, From I-40 Exit 201, 1/2 mile North US 89 to Page, Flagstaff, AZ 86004   |  
Hotel amenities
Blackfalds, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Had everything you could need for a happy camping experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Like most KOA Campground this one has a convenience store and has some camping supplies if needed.

Almost all of the camp sites recieved shade at some point during the day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The seemed to a good knowledge of camping and were helpful to several campers around me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
40
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in the teepee for one night and really enjoyed it. It's a bit hard to get into because you have to scrunch down but inside it's very roomy! We were pleasantly surprised that there was one power cord with a lamp which came in very handy. The bathrooms at the campground are super clean and I was very impressed. Yes, it's noisy because it's right by a main road but I always travel with a sound machine for background noise anyway, so it didn't bother us at all. We got snacks at the snack bar and breakfast at the Kamp Kitchen, which is a trailer where you place and order and sit on picnic tables and eat. The food was amazing and we played games at the table while we waited. Overall a great experience and very nice camp hosts!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed several days in one of the camping cabins (with electricity) and LOVED IT! It's a one-room deal with a fridge, microwave, TV and one double bed and one bunk-bed.

We were a bit concerned that it was going to get noisy as the campground filled up, but were pleasantly surprised. As soon as the sun went down, it got real quiet.

They have a "community center" with a pool table and a water-attraction and jumping castle for the kids. You can also rent some cool "Banana Bikes". Just do it! Can't explain what they are or how they work. They are fun to do at least once.

An entry to the Elden Mountain trail and "Fat Mans Loop" (on same trail) is right outside the campground (the public trailhead is about 1/4 mile away). Fat Mans Loop is pretty easy, but still gives a bit of a workout (it does start at around 6500 ft elevation).

Close enough to Flagstaff (about 3 miles East of downtown) to see the sights, but far enough away to eliminate any city noise or congestion.

The cabins do get quite warm in the afternoon (highs in Flagstaff were around 85 degrees), but as soon as the sun goes down, they are quite comfortable. A couple of nights I had to close the windows as it got a bit too cool.

The WiFi was a bit spotty. I think it has a maximum number of connections: as the place filled up it was harder to get a connection. However, when I got a connection, it worked fine.

The restrooms/showers are cleaned daily (one from 9-11am and the other from 1-3pm) and are kept VERY NICE. Being in the desert, I was concerned that there would be low water pressure or over-zealous flow-reducers in the showers. PLEASANTLY surprised to find good water pressure, nice flow and plenty of hot water.

The staff was friendly and helpful and actually seemed to enjoy working there! We got into several friendly conversations, one of which led to another hike in the area. Nothing like getting the lowdown from the locals.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for the camping cabins and skip the tepees (unless you have an overriding need to sleep in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We camped here with our 3 yr old and 20 month old for one reason-camping in a teepee. They are quite large & come with 2 circular beds with a waterproof type cover & a lamp, which sits on a nightstand made of wood and stone. You could easily get 2 air beds on the floor, which is made of pavers and lofted about 5 inches off the ground. The top and bottom portions of the tepees are open a bit, so if it rained you'd be wet. There really wasn't a bug issue, with the exception of some ants. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating-would do it all again!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My daughters cycling team stopped here to sleep before they rode to the Grand Canyon. It was clean, the spots were nice and roomy and the staff was friendly as well. It's also close to town for things like grocery's or pizza if you roll in super late like some of our team did. :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Although the staff is awesome and very friendly and helpful the camping arm wifi leave something to be desired. If you require wifi to keep in touch with family or make a skype call forget it, you will not be able to connect. As for the sites if you like gravel spots then your fine

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hi. Took copious photos hope this helps. As I am walking around this morning, taking pics and waking up, staff that I happen to pass asked "would you like me to take pic for you?" at the postcard area and they just seem to really take pride in their work and their park.

This has to be kid heaven, but also adult heaven. Please see pics

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA

Address: 5803 North US 89, From I-40 Exit 201, 1/2 mile North US 89 to Page, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Grand Canyon Koa Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.