We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good steak and good vege main” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Northern Pines Restaurant

The Northern Pines Restaurant
2200 E. Butler Ave., Flagstaff, AZ 86004
+1 928-266-1929
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 283 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Northern Pines a locally owned and operated, one-of-a-kind restaurant, located conveniently off of interstate 40. We provide a fine dining experience complimented by our expansive menu options. We also offer a full-service bar with a wide selection of wine, beer, and cocktails. Follow our Facebook page for more information on our weekly specials and other promotional offers!
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“good steak and good vege main”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I had the rib eye steak with fries and salad. My partner had the vegetarian main; wild rice, mushrooms and vege patti with parmesan on top. All good, $40 with tip.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Pines Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear customer,

Thanks for taking the time out of your schedule to complete this TripAdvisor review! We really appreciate your feedback, which is extremely valuable to us.

We're excited to hear about your positive experience. If there's any way that I can assist you in enhancing your next experience with us, please don't hesitate to contact me personally.

Sincerely,

Anna Patel
PR and Office Manager
Anna.Patel@dayshotelflagstaff.com
(928) 774-7186
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    57
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the most enjoyable new spots in Flagstaff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The former location of Hogg Brothers looks the same on the outside, but the inside is all new. The obviously professionally designed decor is modern clean and bright. Plenty of room between tables and comfortable high backed booths. From the moment we entered the experience was amazing. Cheerfully greeted and promptly seated at a nice window booth. But that was just the beginning. The breakfast menu was amazing. From traditional favorites to a variety of Benedict's (I had the salmon Benedict) omelettes and traditional pancakes and eggs, there is a little something for every taste. Each meal comes with a wide array of sides from hash browns to fruit to pancakes. And every breakfast included a small glass of juice - a nice touch! All of our meals were perfectly prepared and served by a staff that is obviously well trained in service. We are frequent weekend eaters in Flagstaff and Ouse prefer to avoid chains, but some of the local cafes are dated or smoky run down and service can be spotty. Our experience today sent the Northern Pines to the top of the list for breakfast, lunch or dinner. This is a must try and I am confident you will not be disappointed. We can't wait to return for lunch AND dinner...there is a winner in town Flagstaff and this locally owned bistro is it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Pines Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear customer,

Thanks for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor review! We really appreciate it. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and we're so excited to hear about your positive experience.

We're glad to know you enjoyed the Salmon Benedict and complimentary juice!

We hope to see you many more times in the future. If there's anything else that I can help you with, please don't hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Anna Patel
PR and Office Manager
Anna.Patel@dayshotelflagstaff.com
(928) 774-7186
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

A great breakfast. Ate there 6-7 times during June. Wonderful breakfast selection, great omelets. Quality as good as Wildflower Bread Company down the street. No question, one of the best breakfast places in town, as good as we have found over the last 5 years visiting Flag. Service is very attentive and friendly. Really an unusual find attached to the Days Hotel, but this is a locally owned place and they feature local products (like Randall’s meats). We tried dinner there one night. Definitely not high end dining. Great beer selection, very cold, but wine, esp by bottle was definitely a challenge for the staff. Meal was OK.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Pines Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete this TripAdvisor review. We really appreciate your feedback!

It's always such a pleasure to hear back from returning customers! We're so happy to learn that you really enjoy our breakfast menu. If you haven't heard, I'd like to let you know that we've recently updated our lunch and dinner menus to include several new items!

We certainly hope to see you again in the future. If there's anything else that I can assist you with, please don't hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Anna Patel
PR and Office Manager
Anna.Patel@dayshotelflagstaff.com
(928) 774-7186
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not the boring regular breakfast fare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had pork enchiladas with eggs, and my husband had the crepes florentine. Both were unexpected and wonderful. Service was faultless, and the coffee was good and my cup constantly warmed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Pines Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear customer,

We appreciate you taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor review. Thanks for the feedback.

We're so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your breakfast experience with us! The Pork Enchiladas with Eggs and Crepes Florentine are two of the many delicious items that our breakfast menu offers.

We'd like to let you know that we've recently updated our lunch and dinner menus. Hopefully we'll see you again sometime in the future, and you can give them a try -- let us know what you think, when you do!

If there's anything else that I can assist you with, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Anna Patel
PR and Office Manager
Anna.Patel@hotelsflagstaff.com
(928) 774-7186
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumas Lake
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy we stopped!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I stopped here for breakfast on a trip across the country. We were seated promptly and with a smile. Our server was very friendly and quick. I had the tamale and eggs and my husband ordered the sausage and eggs. All the breakfast plates come with a complimentary small juice which we thought was a very nice touch! The food was great, the coffee was great, and the service was great! If we ever go to Flagstaff AZ again we will definitely be stopping by the Northern Pines again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A, Public Relations Manager at The Northern Pines Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to complete this TripAdvisor review! It's much appreciated.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us, and we certainly hope to see you again soon.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, and again, we truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a positive review.

If there's any way that I can be of further assistance to you, please don't hesitate to ask!

Sincerely,

Anna Patel
PR and Office Manager
Anna.Patel@dayshotelflagstaff.com
(928) 774-7186
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northern Pines Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Northern Pines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northern Pines Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.