We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to see in and around Grand canyon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon International Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Canyon International Hostel to your Saves list
Grand Canyon International Hostel
19 South San Francisco St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Ideal place to see in and around Grand canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Situated at the central location surrounded by Grand Canyon, Sedona, Meteor Crater, Antelope Canyon and Horse shoe bend, also on the historic Route 66 is an ideal place to see all the places around.
The place itself is cozy, looks old but clean and neat. Bathrooms are well maintained and healthy. The staff if very helpful, courteous and accommodating. Wifi is free. Parking too is available for free which is a plus. The accommodation includes healthy breakfast. If you are ready to cook, you have access to the kitchen. Laundry (washers and drier) available at very nominal free
I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay. Highly recommended if you plan to look around places Grand canyon.
Value for money and I would definitely want to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    52
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
23
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is pretty good local hostel to stay if you are considering walking/hiking/exploring the local area. The hostel is kept in pretty good condition, with the rooms and showers cleaned daily. Security is pretty good with only four to a room and locks in both the front door and the individual rooms.

Free breakfast is included which is basic but considering I've paid more for hostels without it included; it does the job.

Flagstaff is a pretty cool town with a big range of bars and outdoor shops, and the visitor information place just over the road is very helpful to visitors.

Only downside would be for the light sleepers as the rail road is only a 200 meters away and the trains are pretty loud (you can buy earplugs for 25 cents at reception). Apart from that, great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Easy to reach from different destinations and it's only hour drive from marvelous Grand Canyon. Rooms are basic, but people are friendly and open-minded. Showers are clean, breakfast tasty and parking is just few steps away. Hostel crew offers a lot of activities for a fair price, and if you going to the Canyon yourself, don't miss their Sedona tour, that place is fantastic too!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Very nice showers, limited breakfast with disgustingly sweet porridge sachets. wifi was temperamental but overall perfectly fine stay.
Good location for restaurants/bars in Flagstaff in the evening. only an hour's drive to the main sightseeing views and hikes of the GC.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

great place, lovely place to stay, good place to meet like minded people.. place is clean and the rooms are clean, beds are comfy, good value for money, even though i only stayed two nights it was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

A bit over priced for me but then all hostels are in USA...I liked the HI in Phoenix because they're
Open to working mostly cleaning! In exchange for bed.
This hostel is well located but they need to turn down the MUSIC blasting as it makes it hard to talk with other guests which is what I enjoy doing when choosing a hostel. The fellowship is important for me.
In New Zealand we have a huge network of hostels . I am surprised America has so FEW!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The rooms very small, the TV (we had to pay extra for it) worked not like described, very close to the main station (= 1. close to a very good restaurant (Lumberyard Brewing Company), 2. you can here the very looong trains every 45 minutes.
I found it a bit confusing as they have two check-in/ -out points.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#12 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon International Hostel

Address: 19 South San Francisco St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming happy travelers from around the world for over 20 years! This charming hostel located in the quaint mountain town of Flagstaff, is a fun, friendly and inexpensive place to stay the night, and is only 80 miles from the magnificent Grand Canyon! It provides a unique and relaxing environment which encourages mingling with other guests, including the thousands of International visitors who overnight here every year. Make new friends, practice your foreign language skills and rest up for your next Arizona adventure, all under one roof! There's nothing fancy about this place, but it definitely has loads of charm and character! The accommodation is clean, simple and affordable with cozy dorm rooms on the main level and "themed" private rooms on the upper floor. The location is ideal for those who prefer walking to driving. Exploring historic downtown Flagstaff is easy - a vast selection of restaurants, pubs, shopping and nightlife are all within walking distance. A healthy breakfast, WI FI, parking and taxes are included in the nightly rate, and on site kitchen and laundry facilities are available for guest use as well. We also operate awesome day hiking tours to the Grand Canyon. Shop around and you'll see that we offer the best price in town - guaranteed! We hope you will choose to visit our little "home away from home" very soon. Safe travels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Grand Canyon International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon International Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon International Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.