We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a small and cozy restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satchmo's - BBQ, Cajun & Catering

Satchmo's - BBQ, Cajun & Catering
2320 N 4th St, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-3709
+1 928-774-7292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 283 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: A funky little joint, that cooks with love. Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork, Jambalaya, Gumbo and Veggie options just to name a few! A killer selection of local and regional craft brews. We understand it may not taste just like your Grandma's Gumbo or just like Pop's BBQ. But what we do understand is cook'n with love, just like Grandma and Pop's did. Good for your soul food!
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a small and cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor, and wanted to check it out as it was the restaurant most conveniently located near our hotel. We had sandwiches, jambalaya and ribs, and all tasted really good. Especially the ribs were extremely good - and I had to taste them although my own food was jambalaya. A very casual restaurant where you can write or draw on the table :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    57
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glendale Az
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great food. friendly staff, a little hard to find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

i had the off-menu special - the fried shrimp po-boy was delicious, lightly breaded fresh shrimp cooked very well with spicy coleslaw and a yummy remoulade type sauce. good portion, loved it. husband has the cajun ribs with the sweet table sauce, he really enjoyed it. make sure you try the beans, good meat bean ratio. it is tucked behind the shell station so you have to look for it, but there is a reason that they are #6 in Flagstaff. dont pass this little place up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Best place I've ate for bbq in flagstaff different type of enviroment but great food n service I was very pleased with the amount of food and cost I will deff. Eat here again keep up the good work

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is the best BBQ in the west. As we had a little one with us we got here at an earlier hour. There was no wait. The woman taking our order was as nice and helpful as can be. After placing our order we waited out on the patio and our order arrived promptly. I had the pulled pork sandwich and it was delicious. The smoker was also on the patio and the aroma was mouthwatering. My son had a beer from a local brewery, Wanderlust,and said it was tasty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome food, super nice staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Food was so good we are driving up from Sedona again tomorrow! We were greeted warmly and made to feel quite welcome. Food was very flavorful. Recommend jambalaya.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satchmo's - BBQ, Cajun & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Satchmo's - BBQ, Cajun & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satchmo's - BBQ, Cajun & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.