We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local flavor, excellent service, support local farmers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Criollo Latin Kitchen

Criollo Latin Kitchen
16 San Francisco, Flagstaff, AZ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 280 restaurants in Flagstaff
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Joliet, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local flavor, excellent service, support local farmers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Somebody on a local shop recommend this restaurant as organic and support local farmers. Food was crazy delicious! They did not have the bbq chicken tacos, special of the day when I already order, however they serve me one, what a nice gesture. we order fish tacos, ropa vieja, quesadilla and tortilla soup, all the food was delicious, fresh and organic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    145
    71
    16
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Crazy Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place is currently rated 20th in Flagstaff, but should be higher, in the top five for sure. Got there before happy hour ended and tried both the classic and mango margaritas, really great. We had both tamales and nachos as appetizers, but other than ones I've made myself, these were the best nachos I've ever had. They are somehow able to get every chip really, really crispy. The salsa and the guacamole were awesome. They also put bacon on on them which was really over the top.

Our table had paella, steak, and fish tacos. Outstanding all. Service was excellent, even though every table was packed. Nice touch was that they text message you when your table is ready. Our party had the great idea to walk across the street to the Wine Loft to wait on the table, which is also an excellent place. All in all, just great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Local farms...good food ...and reasonable prices..best fish tacos ever and attentive service..nice atmospheree

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yum - back again the next night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Flagstaff and we chose Criollo on our first night upon a recommendation (amongst many others) from our hosts. I had the salmon tacos which had been recommended specifically - yum. My husband and I enjoyed Flagstaff so much and the next night we were looking forward to trying another of their many interesting looking eateries. But... we found ourselves back at Criollo because it was just. that. good. Yum - thanks. Great cocktail menu too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've been to Criollo twice, in March and July 2013. The first time I was traveling in Northern Arizona with my girlfriend. We were based in Flagstaff and we decided to try the restaurant without reading any reviews online beforehand. It was an amazing experience. Not only the environment is relaxing and furnished with taste; the food is totally awesome. We especially loved their tamales and the churros, that came with a mindblowing cocoa sauce. Prices are completely fair and the staff is very kind.
Going back to the Grand Canyon in July, we stopped in Flagstaff just to have a friend we were traveling with try the food at Criollo. She was vey pleased as well.
All in all, a really, really great restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criollo Latin Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Criollo Latin Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criollo Latin Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.