We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too freakin' noisy for us” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Criollo Latin Kitchen

Criollo Latin Kitchen
16 N San Francisco St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
+1 928-774-0541
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 283 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Too freakin' noisy for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We ate here based on a recommendation from a co-worker. The service was attentive and the food was interesting, but it was so freaking noisy that we could not even talk. Maybe it was just the table we sat at, but it ruined our experience. We couldn't wait to get the h out of there. No plans to go back. I guess if you get jazzed by the energy, stand in line and enjoy, but for us, there are too many alternatives that give a better result!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    89
    22
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Savory & Scrumptious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After a long day on the road, I found this gem in the heart of Flagstaff. The soft lighting and ambiance was perfect to settle me into a nice relaxed state. I ordered the Relleno Vegetales ($13) Here is the menu description:

Roasted Poblano Chile | Roasted Corn | Butternut Squash | Black Beans | Jack Cheese | Spicy Tomato Polenta | Warm Goat Cheese Vinaigrette

It was so delicious, with a wonderful combination of flavors. Nice sophisticated offerings at acceptable prices.
Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were pleasantly pleased with our meal here. We had picked it out on a whim, sat in the patio at the back on a gorgeous night and had a great meal.
The server helped my husband choose a local beer since we are not from the area and he was bang on.
We had carne asada tacos and a chicken dish which were both excellent.
Server was great, prices seemed reasonable to us.
I'd highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, a little spendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stopped for a late lunch on the way through town. We sat on the patio out back on a very pleasant afternoon. The patio was nice but there a lot of wires and powerlines visable. Service was good, we were given a brunch menu.. not much of it was "latin". We got pork belly tacos and a chicken and bacon sandwich. Quality food but I think it was $13 for a sandwich which I think is on the high side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

this place defines "tapas". It's one of those I-guess-I'm-dinning-at-a-fancy-schmancy-place-because-these-seats-are-tiny-and-stiff-and-I'm-paying-$20-for-an-entree-that-is-really-an-appetizer-and-$15-for-the-house-wine.

However, food is tasty dishes, excellent wine selection...but warning to all men over 6 feet, you'll leave hungry with a thinner wallet. Try the Beaver Street brewery...a place for big manly men and salads for their teeny-cutsy-wives

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criollo Latin Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Criollo Latin Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criollo Latin Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.