We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Greek Grill

Taverna Greek Grill
2420 South Woodland Village Blvd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
(928) 213-9994
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 283 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Luis Obispo, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The food was good. The service good. The seating very uncomfortable as the very large table took up all the seating it was right up against your chest. We love Greek food and this was good considering it is in Flagstaff and I don't believe they have many real Greek foodies. We have just had the real thing and that is hard to beat.
Very very noises not a place to have a reunion or serious conversation.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    80
    29
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Had a great time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was recommended by the hotel when we spent a night in Flagstaff and we couldn't thank them enough for it - had a great time!

The bartender - Shandor - was great. We just sat up by the bar and had some drinks and appetizers. He really knew his stuff & was a really nice guy. Being a Monday, it was buy one, get one free cocktails, so the price was VERY reasonable.

We had a couple appetizers (the Carnivore flat bread and the Dolmades) and will have to say that the food was quite tasty. Also, very nice decor and atmosphere. If I lived in the area, I would definitely be a regular here.

If I'm back in the area, will definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Much better than my last visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Went with the wife and kids this weekend to grab lunch and get some gyros. Last time we had been here was 8-10 months ago as it wasn't a great experience last time with the service or the food. I will definitely say that this trip was a big improvement. The service was much better and the food was definitely much better. Our gyros were good, greek salad fresh, and the kids love their mac & cheese. We also tried the loaded fries from the happy hour menu and they were wonderful (and evil all at once - do not order them if you have any self-control issues as I wanted to eat the whole plate). We had a coupon given out locally, so our value was better than just walking in. It will not take us 8 months to come back again after this visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Greek Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Large portions of Greek and other casual eating fare. Service is friendly and prompt. A little hard to find for a tourist. It is located inside a shopping area off the main streets of this area. Be persistent and you will be glad you are eating here and not at the many chain restaurants that are nearby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My extended family and I went to an early weekend dinner. The service was very good, but our table was not level so every time my kids would color the table would shift back and forth. Great food and atmosphere, the cheese and three dip appetizers were very good. The humus was the best I have had in a while. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Greek Grill also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Greek Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Greek Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.