We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well informed staff and great day adventures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canyon Store

Grand Canyon Store
24 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
1-800-716-9389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 23 activities in Flagstaff
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are a Tour Planning and Information center. We have daily tours that will show you Grand Canyon Top to Bottom and surrounding area attractions! We also have a Retail Store with Grand Canyon and Route 66 gifts and apparel.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well informed staff and great day adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was part of an active seniors travel group who had the Grand Canyon Store in Flagstaff provide us with seven days of tours to the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Meteor Crater, Antelope Slot Canyon, Lake Powell, as well as their terrific jeep tour down a fault line into the base of the Grand Canyon near Peach Springs. Their drivers and guides well incredibly knowledgeable, wonderfully helpful and considerate of the needs of our older members. I can't say enough good things about these people. You will not regret choosing them as your tour guides.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    5
    5
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hortonville, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Antelope Slot Canyon/Lake Powell Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I would recommend this tour to anyone who is adventurous. We were picked up by a shuttle from our hotel, and taken to the Grand Canyon Store. We were greeted warmly by Chris at the store and then taken to our tour Shuttle with guide Allen. Allen was an amazing guide and answered all of our questions with enthusiasm. Antelope Slot Canyon was unbelievable. Allen showed us how to take the best pictures and see things with a different perspective. The Lake Powell boat tour was relaxing and beautiful. We even got to take a swim, the water was so warm and refreshing. The entire tour was done professionally and we will definitely go back when we're ready for our next adventure!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience - better than riding a mule!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked this tour after watching their online video and reading other info. We started at Williams, AZ and were fortunate that day to be the only family going so it was like a private tour. Allen our driver was very knowlegeable, friendly, asked about where we had been and was geniunely interested.
The tour was organized very well as we took a shuttle bus and stopped in Seligman, AZ on route 66 on our way to Hulapai indian reservation/hotel. We ate lunch in the hotel while our driver got the Jeep ready. After lunch we headed down into the Canyon (Approximately 18 miles) Along the wasy Allen would point out the rocks, plant life and we even stopped for the wild mules. The ride to the bottom is on a maintained dirt road but at times can feel like your 4 wheeling which adds to the experience. After about 1 1/2 hours we reached the Colorado river. We then had plenty of time to look around, wade in the water, take more pictures etc before we had to start driving back to our starting point. It was interesting seeing different rock formations as we headed back up that you cannot see going down. We stopped a few times so we could take pictures and our Jeep driver took a few "family" pics for us.
We returned to the Hulapai hotel and boarded our shuttle back to Williams, AZ. All in all it was a great experience! After walking the trails from the top of the South Rim the day before to drive down into the canyon gives you a chance to see things others don't get to experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Antelope Canyon Page AZ via Grand Canyon Old West Jeep Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were staying in Flagstaff AZ. Resort had a presentation of the local activities. Grand Canyon Jeep Tours had a trip up to Page AZ to see the Antelope Canyon on the Navajo Indian Reservation. A nice shuttle picked us up at the resort and then over to Flagstaff Tour office where we met up with others going on two different trips in the same area. A larger shuttle bus with the BEST Driver/Tour Guide named Allen drove us up to Page AZ and had a never ending tale of History and Points of Interests along the way. Made it to Antelope Canyon, no problem checking in with the Indians, went ahead of others standing in line and Allen remained our Guide in to the canyon, again with countless must sees and observations. We were not rushed, took breaks, helped by Allen when needed. Allen even helped us set our camera settings to make sure we got the Best Pictures with the available lighting in the deep narrow canyon. Once out of the canyon we made our way to the Lake Powell Marina for a Huge Sandwich lunch and then the group broke up into Rafters and Boaters. We the Boaters, took a boat out onto Lake Powell and down one of the deep canyons to see more colors and back country and then to a beach for some Swimming. The Rafters were taken to a place to be loaded into rafts located on the smooth running waters of the Colorado River to float down to the Lees Ferry area of AZ. After we swam we went back to the marina where Allen picked us Boaters up and then drove to the Ferry area to pick up the Rafters. Allen determined that we had extra time so during the drive to pick up the Boaters we had time to stop at the Navajo Bridge over the Colorado River and also a stop to see the Balancing Rocks near Lees Ferry AZ along with a closer look of the Colorado River. The Rafters made it in time, we loaded up the shuttle and listen to Indian music all the way back to Flagstaff. This is an All day event that you should allow someone else to drive, and if you have a choice make it Allen from the Grand Canyon Old West Jeep Tours, you will not be disappointed. 7/2012

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime-Antelope Slot Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

It is hard to know what to expect when you sign up for a group tour. My family and I can honestly say that this was a worthwhile experience. Allen, our tour guide was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable. As an added bonus, he is a professional photographer and generously offered valuable tips as we photographed the breathtaking Canyon.
The tour was well organized and never did we feel like we were being shuttled around like cattle to one tourist trap after another.
From Tusayon it is about an hour out to Cameron, where the bus picks you up and about another 90 minutes to the Slot Canyon, but the time passes quickly as Allen points out many interesting sights of the Navajo Nation along the way.
We spent about an hour in the Slot Canyon (which is plenty of time to take 1000 pictures), then we were taken to a floating marina a served a decent box lunch. The Marina had a great shop and extremely clean facilities as well. Our family did not participate in the raft ride, but went on a 90 minute Lake Powell cruise, which was very pleasant. Our boat was shaded and comfortable. We had a different guide, who took us to Antelope Canyon and then to a beach where we could hike and swim for about 30 minutes. If you have really young children I highly recommend taking this option.
Overall, I highly recommend taking this tour. Request Allen if possible.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Store also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canyon Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Canyon Store to your Saves list