We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Flagstaff

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Flagstaff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 South Beulah Boulevard, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 65 hotels in Flagstaff
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent a couple of nights as part of package tours of the canyons. Hotel is good, but if I had a choice I would have picked a more centrally one as this is locate just off the highway, which is good if you arrive by car, but not so good by coach as one would be restricted to the only 2 local restaurant for dinner..
Service was good and the room more than adequate. Breakfast was nothing special and something that one would expect in this type of establishment. Good Wi-Fi connection.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Director of Sales at Courtyard Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay . You are correct as there are only a handful of restaurants within walking distance, however the hotel does have a complementary shuttle that can transport you to more dining options. We hope you enjoyed your tour of the US and are glad we were a part of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    158
    58
    18
    16
See reviews for
155
154
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verdi, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights with my wife. It was nice that they had a laundry room and work out room. Room was small but had a refrigerator which was nice. Not luxury but clean and suffered from occasional noise from people jumping and walking around upstairs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Director of Sales at Courtyard Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to Flagstaff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We haven't stayed in Flagstaff for a while and I am a Marriott Rewards member so my first place to look when deciding where to stay is obviously the Marriott chain. I found the Courtyard Flagstaff and loved the look and location of this hotel right away. I read the reviews and decided to make the reservation although there were many negative comments regarding the beds. I have never stayed in a Marriott that had uncomfortable beds. Upon arrival, the reception area was very clean and inviting and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. When we got to our room, it was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. We liked the fact that it was all newer and smelled fresh. We were in town for our daughters NAU orientation the next day. After enjoying an evening downtown, we headed back to the hotel for some sleep. Even at 9:00pm, we were easily able to find parking right in front. Again the staff was welcoming and I even hopped on the computer for a moment to print out a form for the next day. (nice computers) Needless to say, the comfort stopped there. The beds/pillows are very uncomfortable indeed. They are unlike any Marriott I have ever stayed in. I think it is a shame to build a new hotel and put in substandard furnishings like mattresses. Sleep, after all, is the main reason we go to hotels. None of us got much sleep the first night so having to get up early and walk around the NAU campus all day the next day was awful. Then we got the privilege to do it all over again the 2nd night. I was so disappointed in the sleeping accommodations that I have cancelled my two other upcoming reservations for the end of the summer and fall and have made reservations at Little America where I know the beds to be truly comfortable.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that faces the Wal-Mart parking lot. It is a little noisy if you like to sleep wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Director of Sales at Courtyard Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us! We understand the frusteration about our beds, we have ordered mattresses toppers for every bed in the hotel and they are in transit to the property. We are expecting them to be delivered very soon and will promptly place them on the beds. We truly value your opinion and sincerely hope that you will give us another chance and try our beds again with the new toppers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Travelled here for what was supposed to be a Sedona/Grand Canyon vacation, we felt Flagstaff would be the perfect central home base. Unfortunately we arrived the same day as the Sedona Slide Fire so our trip was cut short.

The hotel is easy to find, right off the highway but far enough up the hill to be away from freeway noise. Nearby you'll find several dining establishments (Olive Garden, Red Lobster & similar others are walkable) as well as a Target and Walmart right around the corner. Check in was friendly and easy - they accomodated my request for rooms next to each other, as well as on a higher floor without a blink of an eye.

There are laundry facilities here (30 min cycles) and the gym is quite nice with new equipment as well as free weights and balls. There is a small bar, outside fire pit as well as a large lobby lounge and office area. As others mentioned, breakfast is available in the mornings, but it is not included in your rate - you can go down the street to Coco's or other spots for good "diner fare", and in town there are a number of excellent options for all meals as well. I found the beds to be comfortable (to be fair I do like a firmer bed) and the entire hotel was clean. Door slams are a bit loud, but it seems that most modern hotels have this problem, as they're weighted heavily for security reasons.

We ended up checking out two days early, as the fires prevented us from doing most of the activities we had planned. Jacob at the desk was very helpful giving us some local perspective. The news, internet and papers all claimed the roads to Sedona from Flagstaff were passable and no activities were being cancelled, but Jacob gave us proper perspective on what we'd be able to see, how safe it would be and etc. THANK YOU JACOB! For your honest feedback as well as working with us on an early checkout.

We'd come back here in a heartbeat, and looks like we will have to in order to se Sedona.

Room Tip: Higher floors (there are only 3) allow for a little less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Director of Sales at Courtyard Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us! Jacob is an absolute gem within our staff and are are so pleased that he kept you informed during the slide fire. We look forward to again hosting your stay on a future trip to Northern Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The room was beautifully decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside to this hotel is that they do not offer a free breakfast. With the cost of the room, we felt that $10.99 per person for the morning buffet was out of line. We have stayed at equally nice, or even nicer hotels, for a lower nightly rate, with a full hot breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Director of Sales at Courtyard Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, AZ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Pretty hotel, friendly staff, clean except for hair on floor in bathroom, but the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept on in a hotel. Unbelievable for a Marriott. We were in town for a wedding over the April 25-27 weekend--loved the snowfall on Saturday--gorgeous! However, the king size bed was so uncomfortable--didn't get much sleep. Had a hard week at work as when we got home I was worn out and tired all week. My adult son tried to sleep on the sofa bed but he might as well slept directly on the springs--mattress was so old and thin it didn't help much. If you are looking for a good night's rest you will definitely want to pass on this hotel. Also, the room was pretty small--hardly any closet space.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Director of Sales at Courtyard Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on the matresses and we are pleased to announce that we have ordered mattress pads for every bed on property. These pads will make the beds more comfortable and will be able to accomodate more guests sleep preferences. We invite you try us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This courtyard has some great views of the mountains around flagstaff. Our check in went smooth and every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful. Our room on the second floor was clean & quiet. The fire pit was nice to sit around in the evenings. We did not use the indoor pool, hot tub, or fitness facilities but they all looked great. The only minus I could give is the cost of the breakfast. I would recommend IHOP or other restaurants in the area. I did like the fact that no pets were allowed at this property. This and the reviews on T A were the reason I choose this property. I would recommend to my friends and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I always avoid rooms around the elevators and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina L, Director of Sales at Courtyard Flagstaff, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax around our firepit! We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Flagstaff

Address: 2650 South Beulah Boulevard, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#13 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Flagstaff 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the crossroads of I-17 and I-40, the hotel sits up on a hill overlooking Northern Arizona University. Relax around the outdoor fire pit or soak up the magnificent views of the San Francisco Peaks from one of our balcony rooms. Whether traveling on business or pleasure our hotel is just minutes away from local restaurants, shopping and historic downtown Flagstaff. Not sure where to go? Use our GoBoard™, which is designed to put all the information you’re looking for right at your fingertips, including time, weather, local headlines and events, sports, and restaurant recommendations. In addition to enjoying the ideal location, ambiance and service, your guests will appreciate our room accommodations featuring either one king size or two queen beds. Each guest room offers amenities which include hair dryers, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, on-command movies and cable television, a large work desk, separate dual data ports, phone line with personalized voice mail and complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.