We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all-around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Flagstaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Flagstaff to your Saves list
Courtyard Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 South Beulah Boulevard, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Calif.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent all-around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed two nights so my son could take a campus tour of NAU. Excellent location for NAU and downtown as well. Very close to good restaurants. Check in was a breeze, front office person was friendly and efficient, and gave us a handy map. Room was excellent--ours faced the courtyard. Beds were very comfortable. This seems to be one of the few hotels that understand if you have a window A/C, if the vents is pointed vertically, the air blows the curtains out when they're closed. The vents on this unit are at an angle and the curtains don't interfere--and the unit was whisper quiet, as was the hotel itself. Bathroom was spotless and big--the bench at the rear of the shower/tub is a nice touch. The entrance from the street is a bit funky--a steep driveway that's easy to miss if you don't watch for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    171
    61
    19
    18
See reviews for
158
168
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our first stay at a Courtyard by Marriott, and we were very pleasantly surprised and will definitely consider staying here again. The King room with Sofa bed was not the largest room we've ever stayed in..."cozy" comes to mind (although we are a family of 4)...this room is probably best suited for 1-2 people, traveling without kids. However, there were with huge vaulted ceilings, which made up for the room size...I didn't feel claustrophobic as I sometimes do in hotel rooms.

The room was clean (although a little bit heavy on the orange-scented air freshener). The bed/pillows/linens were very comfortable. Wireless internet worked well.

Downsides: the pull-out Sofa bed (which we had hoped would accomodate both our 6 & 8 year old) was barely big enough for the 8-year-old alone. They had to draw straws for one of them sleeping on the floor. The linens for the sofa bed were not in the room either, so we had to request them at 9 pm, however, they were delivered within 10 minutes of our request...which was a plus!

Only other small disappointments were the extremely small swimming pool and the pay-per-person breakfast (we didn't eat it, but I don't know that we missed out on much).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our family stayed at the Courtyard Flagstaff when visiting the Grand Canyon. My husband and I are very picky about hotels, and there did not seem to be many nice hotels in Flagstaff of closer to the canyon. This hotel was nice and new, and we were happy that we chose it.

Positives: Very new with attractive, modern decorating and flat-screen televisions. The bathrooms and bedrooms were very appealing, and the mini-fridge was nice to have. Our view was nice. We liked the cozy lobby with an interactive news and information screen from which you could print directions, comfortable seating, televisions, and a firepit just outside. The hotel is just across the street from a Wal-Mart and close to Target and other stores. The service was fine.

Negatives: We brought a white-noise machine, so sounds from the hallway or other rooms didn't bother us. I think one of the biggest differences between a Courtyard and a nicer hotel is the cheap off-brand kleenex and flimsy towels at the Courtyard. Also, there were no connecting rooms, so our teenagers had to stay down the hall from us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a modern hotel, with a spacious reception, lobby and bar area, and an outdoor courtyard and seating area around the firepit. We had a room with a balcony which overlooked the courtyard area, which was fine, but had some noise at night. Our room was otherwise very comfortable and clean, with fridge, coffee percolator and flat screen TV. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, especially at the bar (the bar tender went out of his way, late one night, to make my daughter a hot chocolate with cream and trimmings), and at breakfast when staff were attentive to clearing tables and offering coffee refills. It should be noted that the breakfast is not normally included in the room price, and is also self service. However, there is an adequate selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, breads and waffles, along with two or three hot choices from the 'bain marie'. The hotel also has a selection of snacks and microwave meals for sale at reception, if required.
On the minus side, we found the indoor swimming pool small and unheated (although the spa was very warm), and the water did not appear very clean in the evening. The gym was also small, but adequate.
It is about a 50 mile trip to Grand Canyon, and a 25 mile trip to Sedona, but the Courtyard, Flagstaff is a good base to explore the area providing you have a car or arranged transport.
Did I think it was good value? Yes, it's a pleasant hotel, but the room rates are on the high side. Would I recommend staying there? Yes, I would probably return again, but I am not convinced the rates represent value for money. That aside, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

You could here the other guests walking above, and next door. The room was small and just so-so. The construction was cheap. And nothing special was offer there to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were in Flagstaff for an event at NAU and found this hotel to be close to the university, decent restaurants and a small shopping center with a walmart and a grocery store. Although the hotel is close to the interstate and the shopping area we did not experience traffic noise--it was a quiet stay. We were pleased with the helpfulness of the staff, the atmosphere in the hotel, and the cleanliness of everything. The room was nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean. We did not eat breakfast at this hotel, but chose to eat at a few local places instead. The pool and hot tub were clean and nice to visit after a day's activities. We saw the firepit outside which looked interesting, but didn't venture down to check it out. We would stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel's decor is AMAZING! As a new home owner, I found myself rumbling around the room taking pics/notes on what to do in my own bedroom! Nice vibe from the colors and decor; made waking up and going to sleep very pleasant. I wasn't in totally bliss upon laying down on the bed...nothing special really. But I loved how they had a bar in house....although the poor bartender's house Long Island Iced Tea for $5 was not drinkable for me, just wasnt mixed right. But we took our drinks down to the fire pit (which other guests sitting around there with us agreed was a bit of a disappointment due to the SMALL flame and absolutely no heat coming off of it as a result!) It was a very nice ambience, very romantic, and we enjoyed just sitting out there talking! AS FOR THE PRICE/ROOM: Beware, we booked our room on PRICELINE.COM and the front desk person was so kind as to let us know that we wouldnt have a balcony room due to that fact. She said that PRICELINE doesnt offer those rooms. Which is weird because in January I stayed at another courtyard marriott, booked on priceline, and received a balcony room. Hmmm. Suspicious... But at any rate, this was a decent....quiet...awesomely decorated...romantic....NOT-PET-FRIENDLY...clean...place to stay! Would probably try staying at another place if to visit Flagstaff again, as there is NO free breakfast for a room we paid over $100/night. Hmmm. Value factor just wasn't there for me and felt more should have been offered for such a STEEP price. Ah well. Beautiful property and comfy night sleep are the two terms that describe this place for us.

Room Tip: ...ask for a balcony if that's what you want because not all have balconies OR view of the Peaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Flagstaff

Address: 2650 South Beulah Boulevard, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#15 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Flagstaff 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the crossroads of I-17 and I-40, the hotel sits up on a hill overlooking Northern Arizona University. Relax around the outdoor fire pit or soak up the magnificent views of the San Francisco Peaks from one of our balcony rooms. Whether traveling on business or pleasure our hotel is just minutes away from local restaurants, shopping and historic downtown Flagstaff. Not sure where to go? Use our GoBoard™, which is designed to put all the information you’re looking for right at your fingertips, including time, weather, local headlines and events, sports, and restaurant recommendations. In addition to enjoying the ideal location, ambiance and service, your guests will appreciate our room accommodations featuring either one king size or two queen beds. Each guest room offers amenities which include hair dryers, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, on-command movies and cable television, a large work desk, separate dual data ports, phone line with personalized voice mail and complimentary high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Flagstaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.