We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tinderbox Kitchen

Tinderbox Kitchen
34 S. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
928-226-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 257 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oh My.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been travelling the US for 3 weeks now (NY, California and now Arizona), and we had our BEST meal so far right at this place. The dinner was just impeccable, a true surprise. My boyfriend ordered the scallops which were amazing. I had the duck, very well cooked and soooo tasteful.
We are students, so this restaurants was a bit pricey for us, but after having great wine and those two entrees, we decided we just had to try dessert there as well. What a great choice! We had some sort of chocolate cake with white russian home-made ice cream: heavenly.

We never rated a restaurant excellent on Tripdvisor, but we must do so for the Tinderbox.
We highly recommend this place!!

Oliver (Denmark) & Alessiya (Italy)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    38
    18
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I very rarely rate a restaurant "excellent," but this one deserves it. Seven of us went to celebrate a birthday. We had pork porterhouse. hanger steak, shrimp, duck, venison and scallops--all were excellent (I keep using that word!). Patrick took good care of us and had great product knowledge. The only disappointment was the desert, and maybe that was because everything else had been outstanding. And I thought that after spending $300 on dinner, the birthday dessert should have been comped.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“People really like this place?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

After the duck fat cooked in duck fat was brought to the table it was cold. The chef reminded me of napoleon. Angry little man. The only thing this place has going for it is the ambiance. Stay north of the tracks people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Justified Hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place has really good food and all the hype about it is justified. The menu is unique and varied. I have tried some of their pastas which were really good, and the salads which had really amazing portions considering the price. Also what I cannot recommend enough is the meatloaf. It was the best I’ve ever had. And most dishes have really large portions, the arugula salad I tried was big enough for two! The staff is really friendly and polite. The bartender was particularly accommodating. Excellent culinary experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Flagstaff's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Flagstaff is an interesting place with a lot going on. We almost missed this place - we walked by and could see everyone was having a really good time - both in the restaurant and in the bar/annex next door. Luckily we were able to get a table and had an amazing meal. The portions are large and the food is fabulous. The jalapeno mac and cheese with duck confit and the pork porterhouse bring American comfort food to a whole new level. The place has a great, fun vibe and the servers and the house wine add to that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tinderbox Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinderbox Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.