We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Right for a One-Night Stay but Not for Extended Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Flagstaff West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Flagstaff West to your Saves list
Ramada Flagstaff West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2755 Woodlands Village Blvd / I-17, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All Right for a One-Night Stay but Not for Extended Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I decided to spend two weeks in Flagstaff so that we could run at high elevation. When searching for lodging, I entered a bid for a two-week stay through Priceline. I knew little about Ramada West, the hotel that accepted my bid of $69 per night, other than what I had read in a few reviews about the place being close to the highway and the concomitant noise associated with this proximity.

When I arrived, I was pleasantly surprised. A young man at the reception desk quickly assigned us to a room. (In advance, I had telephoned to ask for a top-floor room away from the highway, and I received what I requested.) When we inquired about nearby restaurants, he told us about a number of options and provided us with a coupon we could use at Taverna, a Greek restaurant at which we decided to eat. (The meal there was really good, and the service was great!)

During our stay, the doors to the hotel rooms were repainted. This action suggests a desire to maintain the property.

The first two days we were at the hotel, our room was cleaned properly. The floor was vacuumed, linens changed, trash emptied, sink and tub cleaned,and towels replaced. Then our experience went downhill. During most of the first week, a housekeeper did not clean our room. My husband had to go to the reception area and request that someone come to empty the trash and replace the towels. During the second week, the service improved a bit in response to our numerous complaints to the front desk. However, the floor was not vacuumed except for once when I encountered a housekeeper and asked her to do so. (Also, the sink and the tub were not cleaned.) On one occasion, a housekeeper gave us the impression that cleaning rooms for new arrivals was the top priority and that cleaning rooms for stayovers was at best a secondary priority.

The complimentary breakfast included the standard fare--cereals, yogurt, juices, waffles, eggs, and breakfast meats. Food was always available at the posted times, The quality was satisfactory.

The hotel manager and reception staff were professional and service oriented. They exhibited a desire to "do the right thing." The physical improvements (such as the door painting) imply owner and management commitment to the appearance of the Ramada West. Unfortunately, a few housekeepers seem to be a weak link. (Strangely, a child was in the housekeeping area on several days. I wondered whether someone had child-care problems. Is such a practice a liability issue for the hotel?)

Room Tip: Request a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA2755, General Manager at Ramada Flagstaff West, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We enjoyed having you for an extended stay at the hotel. We thank you for taking the time and not just giving us feedback after you left the hotel but while you were with us as well. You brought a few things to light that we have responded to in relations to the staff and family at the hotel. We also addressed the stay over cleaning process as we do have a protocol for extended stays and it was not communicated accordingly between our housekeeping departments. We apologize that we fell short of providing you the consistent service that your were provided on some days but not all days. We are glad that overall your experience was positive and you highlighted so many great things about our staff, breakfast and restaurants that have joined us like Taverna Grill in giving the guest an overall good choice while visiting the Grand Canyon State! Again thank you for your feedback and rest assure that we all appreciate your time with us. Every single staff member reviewed your review in our meeting and took away something from it.
We wish you and your husband safe travels and if your back in the area please come back and see all the new changes we are implementing throughout 2014 and ongoing.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    97
    74
    35
    11
See reviews for
140
62
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We are traveling across the country with 3 children. They loved the suite with 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, and nice living room. The town is beautiful. The location is safe. The pool area is ver well maintained. Breakfast was great with variety and protein (not just typical carb continental breakfast).

Room Tip: Book the suite for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA2755, General Manager at Ramada Flagstaff West, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We are wonderfully grateful that you took the time to tell us about your great stay in our Suite. We are currently upgrading all rooms, lobby, breakfast and pool & spa areas. We also appreciate that you noticed that we do not just have a continental breakfast but a nice hot breakfast buffet. Come back and see us and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff at the hotel were all nice , friendly and helpful. The room was nice, but the bathroom could have been a little cleaner. This was the first day of our road trip and we used the hotel as a base for visiting the Grand Canyon and National parks. It is very good for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA2755, General Manager at Ramada Flagstaff West, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We are glad that your first experience in our Grand Canyon State was a positive one. We thank you for acknowledging the staff and commenting on what we could do better. We utilize the reviews to continue to provide the good service and quality that each and every guest expects from a hotel. We are continuing to work on our ongoing renovations and complimenting it with staff members that are committed to our cleaning standards and operational goals at the hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time and writing the review. We ask that you come back and see us and please tell family & friends that we are here for them! Safe travels on your west coast trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay while visiting the Grand Canyon. We wanted a hotel that was comfortable and affordable and Ramada West - Flagstaff, Az really fit the bill! From the friendly staff to the comfortable room and the fantastic complementary breakfast, Ramada is the first place we think of when planning a vacation!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA2755, General Manager at Ramada Flagstaff West, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We thank you for taking the time and giving us an outstanding review. We are glad that your stay was comfortable and priced right. The staff has read and posted your comments on our daily board. Everyone was excited as it is far from few that acknowledge us specifically. We are striving daily to make changes and renovations and glad your stay experience was very positive. Again we all thank you and ask that you come back and see us again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We got a great rate on this hotel through a Priceline express deal so it was definitely worth it. I think I would have been happy with the hotel as long as I wasn't paying more than $100 per night. The beds are comfy. The room was clean and spacious. The shower was hot. We had a little trouble with the hairdryers in both rooms, but that's not a a big deal. Breakfast was decent - definitely a step up from some other hotel fare we had this trip. There were bagels, yogurt, and muffins in addition to the normal sausage, waffle, egg, cereal variety. The hotel is located near I 40, with restaurants and fast food nearby. The grounds aren't fancy, but were maintained. Compared to the other "under 100 bucks hotels" we stayed at on this road trip, this one rated highest. Obviously, it won't compare to hotels in a higher price range.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA2755, General Manager at Ramada Flagstaff West, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We thank you so much for such a great review of our hotel. It shows that the hard work and changes that we are implementing each day and throughout 2014 are coming together to give the guest a great experience while visiting Northern AZ. Our breakfast is good but we are upgrading it even more with more items and expanding the lobby & breakfast area for more seating.
Please come back and see us again. You will love the new additions and upgrades to the hotel. Again thank you and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guyinlosangeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Sim at the front desk was great..and made me feel welcome...and helped out with questions about the area.

Nothing was really wrong with the room. It was clean and some newer furnishings. Mattresses aren't the greatest...but they're not horrible. TV volume kept going in and out...maybe it was something about their setup.

Would I stay again? Yes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAMADA2755, General Manager at Ramada Flagstaff West, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive review on your guest experience during your stay with us in Northern Arizona. We are very glad that Sim made you feel welcome as we try to make everyone feel settled in and assured that they made a good choice by choosing to stay with us.
The staff was happy to hear that your room met expectations and that you will return as needed and stay with us in the future.
We do want to apologize that our rates are a little higher during the peak season in Flagstaff. We do want to make sure you get what you pay for and are currently renovating and adding to our already hot buffet breakfast, pool & spa, rooms, 24 hour mini-mart as well as a new breakfast area and lobby upgrade.
We can't wait to see you again and have safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Flagstaff West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Flagstaff West

Address: 2755 Woodlands Village Blvd / I-17, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Flagstaff West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Flagstaff West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada West - Grand Canyon Area Hotel Flagstaff
Ramada Hotel Flagstaff
Ramada Flagstaff
Flagstaff Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Flagstaff West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.