We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel not hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon to your Saves list
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1008 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-4747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Motel not hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We drove past the hotel as the A in Aspen on the sign post was not clear. After realizing that we had a motel not a hotel we found our room was clean and comfortable. The bonus a free breakfast which was unexpected but adequate. I would use this motel for a stop off but not for anything longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    150
    110
    68
    80
See reviews for
176
174
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

At first - it‘s a Motel!

I booked this property through Booking.com. The reviews were good and the pictures looked very nice. Upon arrival we were shocked... looked nothing like the pictures.

Everything... really everything is old and - the worst - everything is dirty.

Cons:
- Flea market furniture
- Everything dirty
- Breakfast inedible
- Highway and railroad nearby - hardly sleep at night.
- Very poor value - the price should be $25 and not about $100.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a nice experience at this hotel. We stayed there one night before heading to the grand canyon. It was a nice surprise to have a free happy hour when we got there, so we had some time mingling with other guests. Also, the free breakfast far surpassed our expectations. Nothing very memorable about the rooms...adequate and clean. It did have a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was very small. I would recommend it for a budget hotel in flagstaff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I booked one night at this property for my husband and ,myself through Booking.com. The reviews were great and the pics on the website looked very clean and nice for a "budget" hotel. Upon arrival, we were shocked at the exterior of the property--it was very rundown and dirty, however, we were hoping that the rooms would be like what we viewed on the Booking.com site. The suite they put us in--adjacent to the "Presidental Suite" was anything but sweet! It was filthy, smelly and I've seen better furnishings in dumpsters. The couch in the parlor was covered in a black, oily substance, the toilet holder was broken, the toilet tank lid was too large for the toilet, and the King bed sagged in the middle and was covered with an old, tattered blanket. We opted to eat the $87 and stayed elsewhere. The reviews and pics on the various booking sites are a scam - stay away!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here overnight to prepare for our Grand Canyon trek in June 2014 and another night after we returned from the trek. Based on the pictures in a website, it seemed like a nice hotel and the price was within our budget. So we booked it.

Upon arrival, we were quite shocked that it looked almost nothing like the pics shown in the booking website! It was old and looked a lot like those cheap motels in movies. But we still hope for the best. Luckily, the check in process was smooth and the front desk personnel were polite and helpful. I requested for ground floor room and he happily gave it to me. However the room was small. the twin size beds were nice but they really cramped up the room. Furnitures were quite old, but luckily there wasn't any foul smell in the room. The bathroom was huge though. But it does require maintenance. All in all, we had a good rest that nite.

On the next stay, which was 4 days later, we were given a room on the 1st floor since all the rooms on the ground floor were fully occupied. We had many things to carry and no one in the hotel offered any assistance. we had to literally catch a staff to help us. This time, the room is different! It was much bigger than our previous room! It was a welcome sight as we had many camping gears to sort. However it still requires a major work over as it was as old as our 1st room.

Breakfast was included in our room but it was basic. Lucky us, the coffee machine broke down and we had no coffee for the day. However, they did have a person preparing made to order waffle for us, which was nice. Other than that, only a small selection of food were on the buffet table. But for the price we paid, we didn't mind.

Overall, this hotel needs a huge makeover as everything was quite old. But if you don't mind that, an over night stay is actually quite pleasant. I would recommend this if you have limited travel budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I spent 1 night here after an awesome day in Sedona. She made the reservation through Travelocity. We upgraded to a suite cause it was only 10 bucks more. Pulled in and place looked a little dated. Checked in and the lobby was pretty rough. Went into the "suite". And it was not sweet. The toilet tank lid was too a large for the toilet. The shower was kinda gross and the neighbors left their barking dog in the car for what seemed like all night.
We are not overly picky or snobby but I've seen better hotels where crack heads live. Needless to say we were up and on the road by 4am. The good thing is we had great parking when we got to the Grand Canyon so early.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutler Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked a room on hotels.com- just looking for a decent place to stay. For about 90 bucks, we got a 2 room suite with kitchen, living room 2 bedrooms and spa tubs! Liked it so much stayed a second night. Close to the Grand Canyon and the quaint downtown area. Liked Flagstaff so much I might just move there

Room Tip: Use hotels.com-- getting a good deal makes a hotel room just feel a little nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon

Address: 1008 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-4747
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aspen Innsuites Flagstaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.