We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll be happy here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Aspen Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
218 North Elden Street, Flagstaff, AZ 86001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“You'll be happy here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

This is a wonderful B&B in Flagstaff. The Wilson Room we had was spacious, had a washer and dryer, and was very comfortable (there are no other rooms above or below you and you are only attached to the rest of the B&B via the main kitchen area). The hosts were extremely charming, helpful, and couldn't have been nicer. The breakfasts were great also. The trains were loud but you can hear them all over Flagstaff There is nothing that you can do except bring ear plugs. The host said that Flagstaff will soon be going to a "silent" mode of train whistles, whereby the whistles will be directed at each other rather than directed at the entire town. What a concept! Anyway, I think you will be happy if you stay here; we sure were.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

Our family of three including our teenaged 14 year old son, enjoyed our two night stay at the Aspen Inn B & B, during Easter/Spring break 2006. The two story craftsman style historical home is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and only a few blocks from downtown Flagstaff. Joe and Raquel are excellent and very friendly hosts. They gave us a great recommendation for evening dining and lunch, and had available restaurant menus for guests to take We also noted books and magazines to read in the living room area and nice comfortable sofas to relax on during our evening hours.
.
We stayed in Wyatt's room, a large spacious room with an alcove for our son to sleep. There was a cable t.v. and bathroom robes for available use.

Our king-sized bed was very comfortable and the linens and comforter were of a high quality and nice pattern. The in room refrigerator was well stocked with beverages, water and snacks every day. The bathroom was large and nicely supplied with towels, shampoo and cosmetic soap. Overall, the room was very clean and comfortable and nicely decorated and very reasonalby priced in Flagstaff.

The breakfasts were delicious and balanced. One morning, we were served eggs benedict with a delicious light hollandaise sauce and fruit. the second morning, we had fruit crepes that were delicious with some sauce and great service, coffee refilled and juice and tea refilled.

Joe even called a museum, for us on Easter to make sure they were open, What great service and a gracious host that he is. We felt like we have known him for years as he made us feel welcome in his home.

I highly recommend Joe and Raquel's inn to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

Following a nine hour drive, I drove up the driveway of the Aspen Inn to be greeted by two smiling faces, Joe and Raquel, the Aspen Inn's Innkeepers. Once inside I felt the warmth of the Inn's fireplace and soft music playing in the background. A train's whistle...it reminded me of the Whistle Stop Cafe in the movie Fried Green Tomatoes. What a great sound!

I was shown to a nicely decorated room, took a hot shower and slept great. But the true purpose of this written review was because of the warmth and kindness of both Joe and Raquel. They made me feel comfortable and "at home" away from home. And the full breakfasts they offered each morning were delicious!

I loved my stay at the Aspen Inn, and truly appreciated the very welcoming touch! Thank you and I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

We stayed here for two nights. The Inn is very clean and very well presented. The room was lovely. Breakfast was nice. It was all as expected really. No complaints at all. The location was good although if the train horns bother you be aware you can hear them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2005

Please note: this is a REAL review by a REAL tourist from our trip to the USA from 29.8.2005 until 22.9.2005.
This is accommodation # 6 of that trip
If you want to follow the trip, the hotel before this was The Cottage Inn in Jerome, Az., the hotel after this was The Luxor, Las Vegas. Ne.

Flagstaff is an alternative if you want to visit the Grand Canyon without staying at the typical crowded, touristic places. If you’re a light sleeper, the railroad may disturb you what is no fault of the innkeeper. I guess it can be heard throughout all of Flagstaff. This b&b is indeed a bit disappointing. There is nothing to criticize but also nothing outstanding. On the positive side, it’s clean, the innkeeper is kind and caring, and the breakfast is very good. But it does not have the charms and coziness I love to experience at a b&b. The rooms are quite simple, impersonal and sparely furnished without any extra amenities. Don’t get me wrong. This place is o.k. and I would probably choose it again but it’s a bit disillusioning because it’s more like a small hotel than a cozy b&b.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2005

Joe is an attentive and charming innkeeper, taking great pride in his breakfasts. We thoroughly enjoyed his company. The accomodations while clean were a little disappointing. The room we stayed in was a little tired looking and did not possess the typical coziness that a weary traveler appreciates when far from home. Upgrading the linens for bed and bath would be a great start. Other ideas for upgrades include: provide a daily newspaper and a sampling of area menus.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2005

We spent a night at Aspen Inn B&B after spending a night at Grand Canyon. We are sorry that we didn't spend another night at this friendly place. The most enjoyable part of this B&B was the inn keeper, Joe and his breakfast. We are a family who put emphasis on service. He greeted us with smiles and made us very comfortable. And can he cook a delicous breakfast! My two sisters from Tokyo, Japan travelled with us and loved Joe's friendliness and were impressed with his tasty breakfast pie in the morning. Even our son who is a picky eater gobbled up his breakfast pie. The Aspen Inn B&B sells bathrobes and mug cups. My sisters didn't buy mug cups from Grand Canyon, but bought mug cups from the inn to remember the pleasant stay. This says a lot about the service. The room price is reasonable and you get an at home feeling at this inn. If you want luxurious feeling, you need to go somewhere else and pay a lot more $.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 218 North Elden Street, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 1912 Inn is located 3 blocks from downtown Flagstaff and a little over an hour from the Grand Canyon. We offer comfortable king size beds, private baths, full breakfast and wonderful personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Flagstaff
Aspen Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.