We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark, Scary and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lava River Cave

Lava River Cave
Coconino National Forest, Flagstaff, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 Attractions in Flagstaff
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dark, Scary and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are a family of four and this was so much fun! Our girls were a little scared going in but once they got used to the darkness they loved it! Purchase a head lamp it makes it easier to navigate and you can see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    45
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glendale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A unique hike in Flagstaff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We usually go to Flag to take in the cooler air and see the sights. This Labor Day weekend we decided to do two hikes and did the Lava River Cave one day and Humphrey's Peak the next. The cave is VERY different and is something almost anyone can do. It was busy because of the holiday but I am sure it gets a little creepy during quiet times. Make sure you have warm layers and some gloves are recommended because you have to do a little climbing. Have a spare light also. It was very wet inside with water dripping everywhere. We were told that in June it is much drier. Make sure you turn off your lights once you get in there and experience some serious darkness!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Off 180 look for mile post 230 and FR 245 - that's your left. Then there are little signs that get you there. Not challenging but very glad we made the trip!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Its free, easy to get to and one of the most unique things youll ever do in your life! Its 1 mile hike beginning to end,and then 1 mile back. All underground, nice and cool. Not too hard of a hike. Bring a jacket, few flashlights, water and good non-slip hiking shoes....and your camera and youre set!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing find - dark and challenging but very fun activity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a place we read about on tripadvisor and decided to try. Difficult to find - almost missed it. Ask Park info for map. Was warned that it was dark, but it's actually pitch black w/o light. We suggest a flashlight or headlamp for every person to make it easier. Was leary at first but very glad we pushed forward. Should have went all the way but turned around 1/2 way. Read sign outside before going in to get overview first. I'm not all that athletic and made it fine. Kids loved it - might not be for kids under 5 though. Must see - favorite activity of our trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lava River Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lava River Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.